Like the original problem with the Godfather tile, the rules didn't make it clear: if no one takes a tile and it is the last remaining in the loot, must the last player take it?
In the rules Step 7, Loot Sharing:
"...each player whose Character is still standing...takes a share of the loot (card or New Godfather token).
... The split ends when everything has been taken."
That to me clearly states if it's the last item to take, it must be taken.
Same question now rises with the new The Shadow Trading and the Mercenary Recruitment tiles. Do you have to take them, or if you take all the loot cards - you cannot take them anymore and the loot phase is over?
From reading the rules, and taking in the original rules that I've clarified, you do need to take the Shadow Trading tile BUT the rules for it say you can choose to use the ability. So it doesn't need to activated. Likewise you can take it early to stop another team using it.
The Mercenary Recruitment seems to be worded the same. You can CHOOSE to use it. Personally it seems more like an end of round thing unless you directly confirm with your team mate to say you'll put some loot in, in case your partner doesn't have enough.