Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Sentinels of the Multiverse» Forums » Rules

Subject: Targeting rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Korneel Troch
Belgium
Ghent
Oost-vlaanderen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If it states 5 targets, may you choose one target 5 times or not?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Laudermilk
United States
Orange County
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe it is five different targets.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
korneeltroch wrote:
If it states 5 targets, may you choose one target 5 times or not?

No. 5 different targets.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Meltzer
United States
Dover
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
badge
Eight ball, corner pocket
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
korneeltroch wrote:
If it states 5 targets, may you choose one target 5 times or not?

Often it depends on the exact wording. If it says "Deals up to 5 targets X damage", for instance, you have to choose up to 5 separate targets. Most of the multiple-target damage in the game is like this.

If it says "[You] hit one target for 2 melee damage. You hit one target for 1 toxic damage.", then you can choose the same target both times.

As kind of a rule of thumb, if you have not started a new sentence on the card, then you need to keep choosing separate targets. Remember, though, that you can often choose in what order you hit those targets, so you can get some interesting pinball effects.

Hope that helps.
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Dougan
United States
Urbana
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
korneeltroch wrote:
If it states 5 targets, may you choose one target 5 times or not?


If the phrasing is along the lines of "X does Y targets Z fluffy bunny damage each", then each target must be unique.

If it's along the lines of Omnitron-X's Rocket Punch ("Omnitron-X does 1 target 2 projectile damage. Omnitron-X may deal 1 target 1 projectile damage.") then the same target may be chosen in both instances.

Edit: Multiply ninja
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.