$20.00
$5.00
$15.00
$30.00
Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Kemet» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question on movement and battle rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael Joseph
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello Kemet players! I played a round recently and an odd situation arose, so I want to check to see if it was played correctly.

Player A moved a troop with a total of 3 movement 1 space into an area occupied by a 1 member troop belonging to Player B. Player B played an Escape DI card to retreat one space backwards into his own city. Player A made the argument that since no battle occurred (per the Escape DI card ruling that it occurs before battle, preventing the battle taking place) and could still move. Player A then played a "Avoid City Walls" DI card and moved his troop into the occupied city belonging to Player B. Player B then played a veto DI card, cancelling Player A's wall card and preventing him from entering the city. Player A then proceeded to claim that he still had 2 movement left since no battle had taken place, and moved two spaces to a temple and their first battle.

My question (after that lengthy play by play) is: was Player A correct in claiming he still had movement left after their two foiled attempts at battle?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Cohn
United States
Racine
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I vote "A".

Yes, from my interpretation of the rules, Player A is correct.

The first part in particular I know is correct, it's on pg 6 of the rulebook, right next to the "Attack" section

Rulebook wrote:
⌂ Clarification: If, before a battle, the defender uses the DI card Escape, the battle is canceled and the player can continue his movement.


Continuing the line of thought, since no battle has occurred, Player A can play their DI card--during the Day phase, not during battle--and proceed to the player pyramid through the opposing player wall. BUT, if interrupted by a Veto card, then it never happened, and that player could continue their movement, since they have movement capacity remaining.

All in all, a good play by Player A.

~Steve

7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Joseph
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I, being Player A, was inclined to believe it was played correctly. Thanks for the confirmation Steve!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.