$5.00
$15.00
$20.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Old School Tactical» Forums » Rules

Subject: Die Roll Modifiers vs. To Hit Modifiers rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Scott Bogen
United States
Verona
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
On the Vehicle Combat Table, what is the difference between the Die Roll Modifiers and the To Hit modifiers? When does each come in to play?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eddie Carlson
United States
Clarksville
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
From my understanding, the dice roll modifiers apply whenever the dice are rolled for hitting or checking results on the CRT as stated in the Die Roll Modifier box. The to hit modifiers are only used for determining the hit, and don't apply when rolling on the CRT.

So I may have the moving fire penalty and captured equipment penalty for -2 on the attack roll. But only the moving fire penalty when rolling on the CRT for -1.

Not sure it is the same for infantry as the die roll box for infantry does not state it applies to hit and attack. It play it that it does just for consistency with the tanks.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Bogen
United States
Verona
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you! I must be tired. I missed that notation inside the Die Roll Modifiers box. Your explanation makes sense.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Walker
United States
Henry
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
'65 Squad Level Combat in Vietnam. On Kickstarter!
mbmbmbmbmb
What Eddie said.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Bertucelli
United States
Fresno
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So, the to hit Modifiers are Die Modifiers when rolling for a To Hit?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shayne Logan
Canada
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
The Die roll modifiers on the VCT apply to both the 'to Hit' die roll, and if a hit is scored, to the Attack die roll.

'To Hit' modifiers apply to the 'To Hit' die roll only.

For example.

You have a Reduced AT gun firing at a tank on a higher elevation.
At the range your 'to Hit' number is say a 7.

A 'to Hit' modifier of Reduced crew -1

and a Die Roll Modifer of Height disadvantage -1 are both applied.
So in reality you need a 9 or higher to get a Hit.

If you get the Hit, the Height disadvantage -1 modifier is then applied to the attack roll on the VCT.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.