Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Shadows of Brimstone: City of the Ancients» Forums » Rules

Subject: Splitter & Rail Spike Driver crit question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dwayne Hendrickson
United States
Oklahoma City
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
These both throw D8 for damage but there is no mention of if they crit on an 8, on a 6-8, or not at all. Thoughts?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adria D
Canada
Victoria
British Columbia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Unless otherwise modified by gear and/or abilities, crits are on a 6+. Most of the time you roll a D6 to hit, so that's just a 6 for crits. When you use a D8 to hit, it should crit on a 6-8.

I can't recall what the Rail Spike uses, but the Splitter is a D6 To hit and D8 for damage, so it can only crit on a to hit roll of 6 (barring special abilities).
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derek VDG
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Adria wrote:
Unless otherwise modified by gear and/or abilities, crits are on a 6+. Most of the time you roll a D6 to hit, so that's just a 6 for crits. When you use a D8 to hit, it should crit on a 6-8.

I can't recall what the Rail Spike uses, but the Splitter is a D6 To hit and D8 for damage, so it can only crit on a to hit roll of 6 (barring special abilities).


What Adria said. :)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jee Fu
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
What happens if you have enough cumulative -1s to Hit (say from multi-Void-Venom or from Void Venom + Remains-In-Play Encounter) that your total To-Hit effectively rises above 6 (so like a 5+ with two -1s becomes a 7+)? Can D6 weapons even still Hit? And if so, is it a Crit. And if so, what about D8 weapons? If the D6 weapons always Hit/Crit on a 6+, do the D8s as well, meaning that they're an extremely effective counter against Minus-To-Hit mechanics?

- Jee
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.