Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

A Game of Thrones: The Card Game (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: John Snow and his ability rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Oleg Videnov
msg tools
Hi all,

The text on John Snow says...

While Jon Snow is standing, he is considered to be participating in each challenge in which you control another attacking character.

Suppose first you initiate a military challenge.
Then John Snow is automatically participating.

Does that mean that he has to kneel ?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Cope
United States
Somerville
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

ovidenov wrote:
Does that mean that he has to kneel ?

Nope, he does not have to kneel. As long as he's standing, he participates in all challenges you initiate. And (as you imply) he doesn't even need the appropriate icon to do so.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Hill
United States
Wilmington
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, and just remember his ability applies to attacks only! I made the mistake in the first few games to use Jon Snow's ability even when defending. That made him very powerful....
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
X X
United States
California
flag msg tools
A quick remark: The drawback of his ability is that he is an easy target of Dracarys! since he is automatically participating challenges.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cameron McKenzie
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Incidentally, if Jon is participating via his ability, and somehow gets knelt through some other means, he immediately stops participating.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jimmie Andersson
Sweden
Malmö
Skåne
flag msg tools
badge
Uuurrh! I let him in, uuuhh, was that not cool? Arrrarrh...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Another, similar, note: he is never declared an attacker when using his ability (so Luwin-stealth wont work for example)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oleg Videnov
msg tools
Thanks for the help guys. Appreciated.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sandro rachkovsky
Georgia
flag msg tools
Its kinda confusing

Does Jon's Character ability apply to Intrigue Challenges only? (since it has only Intrigue Icon)

Or also in Military and Power ones?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Cope
United States
Somerville
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

tachka wrote:
Does Jon's Character ability apply to Intrigue Challenges only? (since it has only Intrigue Icon)

Nope, his intrigue icon means he can only be declared as an attacker or defender in an intrigue challenge. However, his ability circumvents the need to be declared as an attacker in challenges; he's just considered to be participating as another (undeclared) attacker.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.