Recommend
7 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Pax Porfiriana» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can you Assassinate your own Hacendado during a Topple? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Roel van der Hoorn
Netherlands
Enschede
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As stated in the subject: can you Assassinate your own Hacendado during a Topple?
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Gastonguay
United States
Pottstown
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Act Three! Everybody Dies!
Avatar
mbmbmb
The rule states you can play an assassination on "ANY" hacendado, so yes, I guess you can.

Wow, that's pretty hardcore. I would never have even thought to do that.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Zac T
Spain
flag msg tools
You are talking about "player assassination", right?:

• Player Assassination. By paying 10 gold, you are allowed to assassinate a Hacendado Card flipped over
to its “partner” side. This flips your victim’s card permanently back to its “Loyalist” side (representing his
son or heir). Note that Hacendados with Private Armies are immune to assassins

This would have to be done during your turn, right? It's not included as part of the Toppling Procedure section of the rules (although flipping hacendado cards to partner sides is).

Also, does anyone know why Player Assassination is not included as one of the actions explained in the Action Phase section of the rules, or on the player aid?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil Eklund
Germany
Karlsruhe
Baden Würtenberg
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
RvdH83 wrote:
As stated in the subject: can you Assassinate your own Hacendado during a Topple?


Yes. Parricide is indeed legal in the game.

Someone asked if player assassination is an action? No, at least not in the Collector Edition rules or the living rules. Player assassination is not listed among the actions, because it is not an action. You get only three actions in a turn, but player assassination is a special decision made only during the topple showdown round, and again is not an action.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gillum the Stoor
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
zacht111 wrote:
You are talking about "player assassination", right?:

• Player Assassination. By paying 10 gold, you are allowed to assassinate a Hacendado Card flipped over
to its “partner” side. This flips your victim’s card permanently back to its “Loyalist” side (representing his
son or heir). Note that Hacendados with Private Armies are immune to assassins

This would have to be done during your turn, right? It's not included as part of the Toppling Procedure section of the rules (although flipping hacendado cards to partner sides is).

Also, does anyone know why Player Assassination is not included as one of the actions explained in the Action Phase section of the rules, or on the player aid?

Player Assassination is no longer allowed as a normal action in the living (or Collectors Edition) rules.

Such assassination is now allowed only during a Topple attempt (and at a different cost than indicated above).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Colm McCarthy
United States
Madison
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You know you're in the Eklund forums when you read sentences such as, "Yes. Parricide is indeed legal..."
17 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.