Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Gathering Storm» Forums » Sessions

Subject: Blundering Through, Winter '36 rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Will Pearson
England
Leicester
flag msg tools
Never drop a crate!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Draws:

Public #84 Greece:0, EAI +1

Germany #13 Any project +1 Level

Italy #98 Italian Support -1, EAI -1

Britain #83 Free activation

France #35 French Support -1

Russia #81 Russian Support -2, +1 Purge (9->10)

EC: -2.
EAI: +1 (1CW, REs cancel).

Purge: Party, purge level 10->11.

Russia's now hit medium cohesion, so loses the -1 support marker and gains an AC1. Germany's ACC now worth 2.

Garrison: Need 8 Siberia + 3 BOP + 1 EAI + 4 Influence = 16.
Have 12 units + 1 research = 13.

Garrison requirement not met (-3), -2 Support.

1 German INF + 1 AAF becomes available to build.
2 British AAF become available to build.

Income:


Germany Italy Britain France Russia

Support 2 -1 2 1 -4
CF 10 4 4 2 10
EC -2 -1 -2 -1 0
RE 0 0 0 0 0
TP 4 1 3 2 0
Maint. -3 -3 0 -2 -7
Draw 1 2 2 1 2

Net: 12 2 9 3 1

Carry: 0 3 2 2 2

Final: 12 5 11 5 3



Mobilisations:

Germany mobilises an idle factory for 8, gains +1 Support. INF Sum '37, AAF Win '37, ARM Sum '38.

Research:

Germany: Jets (5-6), CounterInt (2-3), Armour (7-8), Rockets (5-6). RE: Armor (8-10).
Italy: Armor (1-2).
Britain (AC3): CovOps (3-4), Codebreaking (5-6), ASW (4-5), Armor (1-2), BB Design (6-7).
France: Maginot (7-8), Armor (2-3).
Russia: Espionage (2-3), Air Defence (0-1).

German Jet Result: +1 Air BoP.
German Rocket Result: +1 Armor BoP.

Allied Codebreaking result: +1 Naval BoP.

Shipbuilding:

Italy: S1+AC1 - Continue BB3 (now Win/2).
Britain: 3*S1+AC1 - Launch BC3, Continue BC3 (now Win/2).
France: S1+AC1 - Continue BB3 (now Win/2).

Builds:

Germany: AC3+AC1 - INF, AAF.
Britain: AC2 - AAF. RE: AAF.
Russia: AC2 - AAF.

BoP: Armor remains +2, Infantry remains +2, Air remains -1, Naval -1 -> -2. Total +1.

Russian Garrison: Requirement still 16, now 2 short.

Diplomacy:

Germany: ACC2 Turkey, DC1 Spain.
Italy: DC1 Czech.
Russia: None.
Britain: DC1 Albania, DC1 Austria.
France: DC2 Czech, DC1 Poland.
Germany: None.
Italy: None.

Diplomacy Results:

Turkey No Change
Czech. 3-4 France
Albania 3-2 Italy (Lose Trade)
Austria 1-0 Germany
Poland 1-2 France

Greece CW 1 -> 2.

Civil War Results:

Axis intervention level: 1(DC) = 1

Russian intervention level: 1(Gov't) = 1

Intervention threshold draw = 3.

Result: No effect.

- CW counter not removed from play.

Crisis Phase:

Germany -> No aggression.

Italy -> No aggression.

Expenditure:


Germany Italy Britain France Russia

Mobilisation 7 0 0 0 0
Research 0 0 3 0 0
Shipbuilding 0 2 4 2 0
Builds 4 0 2 0 2
Diplomacy 1 1 2 3 0
Other -1 0 0 0 0

Expenses: 12 3 11 5 2


Starting: 12 5 11 5 3


Carry: 0 2 0 0 1



-----------------------------------------------------------------------

Diplomatic manoeuvring from the Allies prevents Germany from another aggression this turn. The Axis have pretty much lost the Naval race, but are looking good on the other fronts. Italy was again short of mobilising this turn, which is a blow.

Two things I'm not sure if I played correctly this turn:

- The German RE states "Any German Project", would this include Atomic? Granted Armor's more useful right now, but still...

- All the valid ACC2 targets had 4 flags, so would lead to +2 support if uncontested. This presumably lasts until the end of the turn and has no effect on tile gains (unlike factories?).

Other than that the game's starting to turn into a gamble, Germany's only going to keep growing, and the Allies need to prevent aggressions through a combination of diplomacy and research, at the expense of mobilisation. Meanwhile Russia's getting into shape, so there's a good chance the N-S Pact will be needed if Germany heads East.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Goh
Singapore
Singapore
Singapore
flag msg tools
Budding wargamer
badge
My role model for his brains, calm demeanour and appetite for snacks!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
deathninja wrote:
Income:


Germany Italy Britain France Russia

Support 2 -1 2 1 -4
CF 10 4 4 2 10
EC -2 -1 -2 -1 0
RE 0 0 0 0 0
TP 4 1 3 2 0
Maint. -3 -3 0 -2 -7
Draw 1 2 2 1 2

Net: 12 4 9 3 1

Carry: 0 3 2 2 2

Final: 12 7 11 5 3



Italy's tile point score should be 5, i.e 2 + 3 brought forward.


deathninja wrote:
Research:

Germany: Jets (5-6), CounterInt (2-3), Armour (7-8), Rockets (5-6), West Wall(0-1). RE: Armor (8-10).
Italy: Armor (1-2).


There is an excess of one project relative to the number of available research points, since the Axis powers did not allocate ACs for supplementary points. West Wall is probably the typo here.


deathninja wrote:
Britain (AC3): CovOps (3-4), Codebreaking (5-6), ASW (4-5), Anglo-French Co-operation (2-3), Armor (1-2), BB Design (6-7).
France: Maginot (7-8).


The Allies cannot research Anglo-French Cooperation until an Axis aggression has committed two aggressions (e.g. Germany beyond the Rhineland, or Italy beyond Ethiopia) per the second bullet point of 16.16G:

Rule Book wrote:
(16.16)G. ANGLO-FRENCH COOPERATION:
- For each level of Anglo-French cooperation, one tile point may be transferred between Britain and France at any time during each turn.
- The Allies may not place research points in Anglo-French cooperation until the Axis have committed aggression against a target other than Ethiopia or the Rhineland (15.42B).



deathninja wrote:
Russia: Espionage (2-3), Air Defence (0-1).


Russia appears to have taken the diplomacy purge effect since it used its free intel research point which would have otherwise been unavailable, which is fine.


deathninja wrote:
Russia: None.


FYI, Russia can still place an MC in Spain which the diplomacy purge effect does not explicitly prohibit. The latter only prohibits the placement of DCs, and the AC1 that is required to accompany an MC placement in a civil war country is not equivalent to a DC:

Rule Book wrote:
(22.21B)Party
...
Diplomacy:

- Russia may not place any diplomatic counters, subject to the following exceptions:
--> Russia may place diplomatic counters as permitted by random events.
--> Russia may place diplomatic counters in minor countries containing a Russian spy ring (16.16B).
--> Russia may place an additional diplomatic counter (24.53) if it achieves a diplomatic advantage (25.54A) or a diplomatic result (25.55A) in a civil war country, or after winning a civil war (25.72)



deathninja wrote:
Diplomacy Results:

Turkey No Change (+2 Support)


24.82E mentions that a support level increase is awarded if a diplomatic random event has no effect because the target minor country has four flags or the random event is not needed to defend the flag.

As the Anti-Comintern counter is a placement and not a random event, it does not provide the same support level increase per 10.41B and 24.82E:

Rule Book wrote:
(10.41)B. RANDOM EVENTS: General and national support random events may increase or decrease a major power’s support level (9.41E).
...
- Diplomatic random events for a minor country that have no diplomatic effect are treated as open (general diplomatic random events) or secret (secret diplomatic random events) support events for the relevant major power, with a value equal to the random event’s unused diplomatic modifier (24.82E). This can occur in two situations:
-->The minor country already has four friendly flags and the diplomatic random event is not challenged by an opposing military counter or a diplomatic counter or random event with a value of one or more.
-->The minor country has been taken over by an Axis aggressor.

...
(24.82)E. If a diplomatic random event has no effect because the target minor country has been conquered or because the target minor country already has four flags and the random event was not required to preserve the flags, the major power playing the random event receives a support increase equal to the value of the unused diplomatic modifier on the random event (a “1” diplomatic event generates +1 support; a “2” diplomatic event generates +2 support).



deathninja wrote:
Expenditure:


Germany Italy Britain France Russia

Mobilisation 7 0 0 0 0
Research 0 0 3 0 0
Shipbuilding 0 2 4 2 0
Builds 4 0 2 0 2
Diplomacy 1 1 2 3 0
Other -1 0 0 0 0

Expenses: 12 3 11 5 2


Starting: 12 7 11 5 3


Carry: 0 4 0 0 1



Italy's ending tile point should be 2, as the starting figure is overstated by 2.


deathninja wrote:
The Axis have pretty much lost the Naval race


They usually do!


deathninja wrote:
Two things I'm not sure if I played correctly this turn:

- The German RE states "Any German Project", would this include Atomic? Granted Armor's more useful right now, but still...

- All the valid ACC2 targets had 4 flags, so would lead to +2 support if uncontested. This presumably lasts until the end of the turn and has no effect on tile gains (unlike factories?).


1) Yes, the German RE would include Atomic:

Rule Book wrote:
16.15 ATOMIC RESEARCH:
A. ATOMIC GENERAL RESEARCH:

- A major power (Germany, Britain, Russia) that obtains a 10-step atomic general research result increases its support level by +1.


2) Refer to response above regarding the ACC
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will Pearson
England
Leicester
flag msg tools
Never drop a crate!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ratio wrote:
Italy's tile point score should be 5


Yep, sign error on my part.


ratio wrote:
West Wall is probably the typo here.


It is.


ratio wrote:
The Allies cannot research Anglo-French Cooperation


Of course, was on autopilot when I saw the existing boxes (from an RE). Go with French Armor then (1-2).


Ratio wrote:
Russia:FYI, Russia can still place an MC in Spain


Right, but doesn't need to as it's not a DC. I figure saving for mobilisations/mitigating RE support/income loss is a better use of Russia's (very!) limited surplus).

ratio wrote:
As the Anti-Comintern counter is a placement and not a random event, it does not provide the same support level increase per 10.41B and 24.82E


I forgot the golden rule in GS/AWAW: "If in doubt, it's an exception to the rule..."

ratio wrote:
Italy's ending tile point should be 2, as the starting figure is overstated by 2


Makes sense.

Right, I'll get the main post edited once I'm at my desk.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.