$5.00
$15.00
$20.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Victory in Europe» Forums » Rules

Subject: Force size/stacking question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Nason
United States
Waterville
Maine
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This came up during the last game: Under 4.5, it states you can have 3 army, 1 air, and 1 naval unit in clear terrain and this is the most units you may have per battle per side. Does this total include forces entering the area from different borders as reinforcements as well? I assume it does, as stacking is accounted for after movement. Is the largest battle force in any terrain simply equal to its stacking limit?

Second question: Is only Player 2 allowed reinforcements? If Player 1 attacks an area via two borders, is one force considered the main attack and the other reinforcements? Are they one force? Is this even legal?

Thanks in advance. We want to be sure we're playing the game correctly. Having experience with several other block wargames sometimes causes us to mix up the rules.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ron Draker
United States
McLean
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Chris,

Yes, the stacking limit is the max per area, per side. Players cannot end a unit's movement overstacked.

A players' forces that initiate a new battle all arrive the same round regardless of borders used to enter the battle. The player who reacts to a battle created by the other player by reinforcing is limited to arriving in the second round, again multiple borders could be used.

It doesn't matter who is player 1 or 2 because you could have situations where player 1 uses a blitz attack to reinforce an unresolved battle initiated by player 2.

I hope this makes sense.

Ron
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Nason
United States
Waterville
Maine
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ron D wrote:
Hi Chris,

Yes, the stacking limit is the max per area, per side. Players cannot end a unit's movement overstacked.

A players' forces that initiate a new battle all arrive the same round regardless of borders used to enter the battle. The player who reacts to a battle created by the other player by reinforcing is limited to arriving in the second round, again multiple borders could be used.

It doesn't matter who is player 1 or 2 because you could have situations where player 1 uses a blitz attack to reinforce an unresolved battle initiated by player 2.

I hope this makes sense.

Ron


Yeah, it all makes sense. What we were doing wrong is we were paying attention to border limits and not stacking. So, we'd end up with, say, seven units attacking the same area from two or three borders regardless of the stacking limitations for that area. There were a few other mistakes as well, but everything is much clearer now.

Thanks for the response, Ron. Your answers are invaluable!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.