Recommend
5 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Martians: A Story of Civilization» Forums » General

Subject: Unclear Rules! rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Arthur Rutyna
United States
Plymouth
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I want to back this on Kickstarter, but the rules are not clear / confusing in several places. Need better examples. Obviously I'm in the minority, since there are already 2000+ backers.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sandra Dageroth
Germany
Steinhagen
NRW
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Would you be so kind and give examples, where you find the rules unclear and where exactly you need more/better examples? Maybe this community can help you - but only if people know what you find unclear about the rules!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Arthur Rutyna
United States
Plymouth
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
OK. Here are 2 confusing items.
1) The weather starts out "Stable". When do you draw another "Weather" and "Event" Card? By looking at the icons on the "Turn" track, it would appear that you do this at the beginning of Turns 1 & 3. However, the rules state that this only happens "after the second turn" (Page 13).

2) The usage of the terms "Round" and "Turn is confusing me. Are they one and the same? Or maybe that is my problem, is there 4 turns per round? And 4 rounds?

Page 10 "Supplementation Phase PERFORMED ONLY FROM ROUND TWO OF THE GAME". Then on Page 11, Step 4 "Picking a card from the event stack of the current round and introducing the effect listed in the card to the
game." If you can only draw events "FROM ROUND TWO", why an "Event" card stack for Round 1?

Thanks for any help.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
RedImp Games
msg tools
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmb
Neo_1 wrote:
OK. Here are 2 confusing items.
1) The weather starts out "Stable". When do you draw another "Weather" and "Event" Card? By looking at the icons on the "Turn" track, it would appear that you do this at the beginning of Turns 1 & 3. However, the rules state that this only happens "after the second turn" (Page 13).

2) The usage of the terms "Round" and "Turn is confusing me. Are they one and the same? Or maybe that is my problem, is there 4 turns per round? And 4 rounds?

Page 10 "Supplementation Phase PERFORMED ONLY FROM ROUND TWO OF THE GAME". Then on Page 11, Step 4 "Picking a card from the event stack of the current round and introducing the effect listed in the card to the
game." If you can only draw events "FROM ROUND TWO", why an "Event" card stack for Round 1?

Thanks for any help.




A1.
First revealing of the weather card at the beginning of the round track is performed in the Supplementation phase, which is from the round two on. Therefore in the first round there is only one weather change, event and energy production – after the second turn.

A2.
You're right, therefore we are changing this in the rulebook to:
The game lasts 4 'cycles'
Each cycle runs through 3 phases: Supplementation, then Work, then Quarters
The work phase is comprised of 4 rounds. During a round, each player gets one turn (provided they've got population to act)
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frans van Hooft
msg tools
redimp wrote:

A1.
First revealing of the weather card at the beginning of the round track is performed in the Supplementation phase, which is from the round two on. Therefore in the first round there is only one weather change, event and energy production – after the second turn.

A2.
You're right, therefore we are changing this in the rulebook to:
The game lasts 4 'cycles'
Each cycle runs through 3 phases: Supplementation, then Work, then Quarters
The work phase is comprised of 4 rounds. During a round, each player gets one turn (provided they've got population to act)


The difference between rounds and turns was very confusing in the rulebook, I hope this version with 'cycles' will be more clear.

Next confusing issue: for each player there are 4 'colonist tokens' and 3 '3D action markers'... so those plastic astronauts are not the colonist and not your workers? What is their purpose then?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sebastian
Poland
Tychy
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Those 3 action markers are for You to place on board to do actions e.x. You place one on an available space in MOXIE, pay the cost and generate oxygen.

After completing your actions You place Colonist token on turn/round track. This is also the moment to bring food/medicine to quarters.

Cycle goes like this:
-Supplementation phase (add oxygen, disease, hunger token to quarters)

-Work Phase:
--1st round (draw Weather and event card, this is omitted in the very first round of the game):
---each player has 3 time units, 3 action markers (either in his supply or on board) - this is a turn
--2nd round (no cards are drawn)
---each player has 3 time units, 3 action markers (either in his supply or on board) - this is a turn
--3rd round (draw Weather and event card)
---each player has 3 time units, 3 action markers (either in his supply or on board) - this is a turn
--4th round (only if you unlock 4th colonist token - increase your population, no cards are drawn)
---each player has 3 time units, 3 action markers (either in his supply or on board) - this is a turn

-Quarters Phase (in order check if there are any oxygen, medicine or food tokens left in quarters)
--if there's an oxygen token your colonist die (you will permanently have one turn less to act in chosen round)
--if there's a disease token, place one of your action markers near disease space (You will have to pay 1 time unit to get that marker back)
--if there's one or more hunger token, place one of your action markers near hunger space (You will have to pay $1 per food token to release 1 action marker)
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Arthur Rutyna
United States
Plymouth
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the quick responses.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Arthur Rutyna
United States
Plymouth
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Just making sure I understand the game flow correctly.

So, there are 4 ROUNDS consisting of 3 PHASES; Supplementation(skipped in first round), Work and Quarters. The WORK phase consists of "up to" 4 TURNS depending on how many "colonist" tokens each player has (start with 3).

After using their "3 Time Units" (along with any workers) each TURN in the Work phase the player places their color "colonist" token on the TURN track. Once all players have placed their colonist token on a TURN of the TURN track, the Start player token is passed to the player on the left, and the next TURN begins. After the Work phase TURNS are completed, you execute the Quarters phase. Then the Round marker is moved to the next deck of Event cards and a new Round begins.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sebastian
Poland
Tychy
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, that's correct.

And upon placing Colonist token on Turn Track, You can bring up to 2 resources:
-medicine (to remove disease token from any quarter in coop and semi-coop, in competitive only to Your quarter)
-food (to remove hunger token from any quarter in coop and semi-coop, in competitive only to Your quarter)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Arthur Rutyna
United States
Plymouth
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks!!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mickaël Rémondière
France
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi

I have 2 questions from my solo try to understand yesterday please :

- Do each quarter belong to each player ?
Q1 -» player 1 ...Q2 -» player 2 ...

- When extractinh do we consider the number on the resource token ?
A 2 blue resource do provide 2x2 resources ?

Thx
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
pete truss
England
Bridgwater
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
MordimerMort wrote:
Those 3 action markers are for You to place on board to do actions e.x. You place one on an available space in MOXIE, pay the cost and generate oxygen.

After completing your actions You place Colonist token on turn/round track. This is also the moment to bring food/medicine to quarters.

Cycle goes like this:
-Supplementation phase (add oxygen, disease, hunger token to quarters)

-Work Phase:
--1st round (draw Weather and event card, this is omitted in the very first round of the game):
---each player has 3 time units, 3 action markers (either in his supply or on board) - this is a turn
--2nd round (no cards are drawn)
---each player has 3 time units, 3 action markers (either in his supply or on board) - this is a turn
--3rd round (draw Weather and event card)
---each player has 3 time units, 3 action markers (either in his supply or on board) - this is a turn
--4th round (only if you unlock 4th colonist token - increase your population, no cards are drawn)
---each player has 3 time units, 3 action markers (either in his supply or on board) - this is a turn

-Quarters Phase (in order check if there are any oxygen, medicine or food tokens left in quarters)
--if there's an oxygen token your colonist die (you will permanently have one turn less to act in chosen round)
--if there's a disease token, place one of your action markers near disease space (You will have to pay 1 time unit to get that marker back)
--if there's one or more hunger token, place one of your action markers near hunger space (You will have to pay $1 per food token to release 1 action marker)




Please could you post this on the FAQ. Makes life a lot easier following this than the rule book. Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.