Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: RTL: is howling an action? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ken Thibodeau
Canada
Quebec
Quebec
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A barghest uses howl on my hero in his first action. Can he use it again or does this break the "no 2 attacks per turn" rule?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cris Bohde
United States
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Howl is NOT an attack (since attack dice are not rolled). Barghests CAN use this twice, or Howl + normal attack in a single figure activation as directed by the app.

(Edited, per the several reminders on here that I was accidentally mixing up Imperial Assault and Descent 2E rules...)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
thiago k
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Yep, you can use twice, like any other regular action. Monsters are restrict to the one attack rule per activation (or special skill with the attack keyword), until some another effect or skill says otherwise or the description says that can be used only one time per turn.

Ex.: special effect: both of this monsters actions can be attack actions.

Ravage skill: Both of this monster's actions on a turn may be attack actions.

Howl: Each hero within 3 spaces of this monster must test Willpower. Each hero that fails suffers 1 Fatigue. - See, this not contain the attack keyword.


Sweep: Perform an attack. This attack affects each figure within two spaces and line of sight of this monster. Each figure rolls defense dice separately. This is a attack action.


So, howl, grab, throw, etc, are not a attack action (they are special skills that cost a action to use) and can be used twice (the skill does not involve a attack resolution, you not roll attack dices and defense dices in most of the cases)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Johannes Benedikt
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
howl can be used twice.

Only in Imperial Assault special actions can only be used once per activation, in Descent there is no such restriction.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Campo
United Kingdom
Manchester
lancashire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
howls are the worst.. so much rolling!
3 heros x 3 bargehst x 2 howel
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alexander Steinbach
Netherlands
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I am not sure where the "special" action idea comes from, but in Descent there are no special actions, just actions. Howl is an action as it has the arrow symbol in front of it. There is nothing special about it.

Since you have 2 actions to spend, the overlord can choose to Howl two times per activation activation. The only restrictions for the overlord is that only one attack actions, or one other action with the attack keyword, can be performed per activation. This does not apply to Howl as it does not have the attack keyword.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul
United States
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Vardaine wrote:
I am not sure where the "special" action idea comes from, but in Descent there are no special actions, just actions. Howl is an action as it has the arrow symbol in front of it. There is nothing special about it.


Sorry to be so pedantic, but Descent does have special actions (though you're correct that "Howl" isn't one). Special actions are those allowed by quest rules ("...as an action, a monster adjacent to the well may poison it by discarding...")

You're right, because even though "Howl" is a monster action and not a special action, there is no restriction on performing either twice unless it's some form of attack and you're a monster without "Ravage".

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cris Bohde
United States
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DA_Maz wrote:
howl can be used twice.

Only in Imperial Assault special actions can only be used once per activation, in Descent there is no such restriction.


Ahh, thanks for catching that... I have a campaign of both going on right now, and that's one of the rules I keep accidentally using in Descent 2E.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andreas W.
Germany
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
So, just for the sake of completeness, Heroes are also able to use the same skill twice as long as they have enough stamina left to take the fatique cost, correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Douglas Buel
United States
Hollywood
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Naitakal wrote:
So, just for the sake of completeness, Heroes are also able to use the same skill twice as long as they have enough stamina left to take the fatique cost, correct?

Yeah, a hero can attack twice just fine. It's just monsters that can't without a keyword or text specifically allowing it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
thiago k
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Naitakal wrote:
So, just for the sake of completeness, Heroes are also able to use the same skill twice as long as they have enough stamina left to take the fatique cost, correct?


If you dont need exaust the skill or some other keyword or effect says otherwise, correct.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.