$20.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Lord of the Rings: Sauron» Forums » Rules

Subject: Does Black Rider reset at the start or end of the scenario? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Finland
flag msg tools
See title. When it matters is if Sauron gets turns between scenarios (in the master board events there are dice symbols) and plays a card which moves the Black Rider. So does it reset at the start of the next scenario or does it start a bit further for that scenario?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark L
United Kingdom
Belfast
Northern Ireland
flag msg tools
XIPULOXX FHTAGN!
mbmbmbmbmb
According to the English rules, "At the end of each scenario and before undertaking any of the usual activities ... The Sauron player resets the black rider figure to step 15 on the corruption line."

There's nothing about resetting it at the start of a scenario. So if the Sauron player plays cards which advance the Black Rider between scenarios, the Rider will start the next scenario having already moved.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Finland
flag msg tools
Yeah, we played that game using the rules literally like you said and it actually makes sense. Otherwise when a Sauron card is played the ring-bearer could just choose to apply the black rider steps and virtually make the card useless. Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark L
United Kingdom
Belfast
Northern Ireland
flag msg tools
XIPULOXX FHTAGN!
mbmbmbmbmb
DiMarzio wrote:
Yeah, we played that game using the rules literally like you said and it actually makes sense. Otherwise when a Sauron card is played the ring-bearer could just choose to apply the black rider steps and virtually make the card useless. Thanks!

You're welcome! sauron

But I'm not sure what you mean by the bit I've bolded. Are you allowing the active player (the Ringbearer) to choose one result on the Sauron card when the Sauron player is activated instead of a die roll on the main board?

If so, that's not right. When Sauron is activated instead of a die roll, all the symbols on the card Sauron plays must be fulfilled.

When Sauron plays a card at the start of each player's turn, the active player gets to choose which symbol is used. But there are no turns on the main board, only on the scenario boards, so that doesn't apply here.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Finland
flag msg tools
Oh, right. I got confused for a moment.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.