Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Corey Orr
United States
Normal
Illinois
flag msg tools
Hello,

I'm rather new to hex and counter wargames, and decided that after a couple introductory games that this would be the next step. I picked up a dusty old used copy, glanced over the rules, and set up he 1812 campaign scenario. On setup I realized that there was a Po Cavalry counter missing that the setup claimed I should have. The counter sheets I see online only have 2, which is what I have, and the scenario calls for 3. It's not a huge deal, as there are unused French minor nation cavalry counters I could substitute, but I fear the long term functionality of the game could be hundred by a missing piece (like if I were to ever attempt the full campaign). I guess the question is simply whether I have the right amount that came with the game or if I truly am missing one (or more, as this is my first scenario setup). Thanks!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark McG
Australia
Penshurst
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
my recollection is that the original game was short of counters, and some extra were issued in The General

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Cundiff
United States
St. Bernice
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
There's also the issue that among all the French Minor Allied country forces, the Polish troops were without any doubt equal in quality to the French. Indeed, the Polish Cavalry were usually included in French Guard Cavalry formations. Thus, there is justification for the coining of Polish Troops with White icons identifying their infantry with a Morale of 2, and their Cavalry should be noted as GC, morale 3.

There were even small formations of Irish troops who were equal to the French, and Italian cavalry who were, once again, not only equal to French cavalry, but included in French Guard Cavalry formations.