Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Rommel At Gazala (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Retreat or Step-loss? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Hilary Hartman
United States
GLENNALLEN
Alaska
flag msg tools
Just your friendly, neighborhood game player and superhero!
mbmbmbmbmb
By my reading of the rules, whenever a combat result indicates a numerical result the unit suffers either a retreat or step-loss based upon that number?

The defender gets to choose whether to retreat or take a step-loss and, if indicated, the attacker will also get to choose (if the combat result indicates such), too?

Doesn't seem like players could simply choose to retreat forever?

I have to be missing something, but I've read the rules three times...and it certainly seems like a rules quandary.

Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Mokszycki
United States
Snohomish
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
You're reading it correctly. Many games do it this way, via what I call the "bumper pool method," going back to Napoleon at Waterloo and probably some other games are even older. You have to use your ZOCs to force step reductions. It's all about maneuver.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.