Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
neko flying
Germany
Berlin
Berlin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
What would be the consequence of playing without Event / Combat cards? Do you think it would break the rules or the balance?

The game would lose a lot of its appeal of course, but as a newbie I found it a bit overwhelming and I was wondering if it might make a reasonable learning game. Also MUCH faster because, as a newbie, one easily spends 50% of the time reading the card effects. And then rereading them...

Some rules would need to be changed of course: what to do with die rolls that allow to play cards? Reroll? Treat them as wild?

If this idea is completely stupid... sorry

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Hansen
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It would definitely dramatically change the game. But, I could see the appeal for a learning game (although you lose a lot of the theme, so a new player and LotR fan may not enjoy it as much). Other than rerolling Palantirs, I don't think you would need to change anything.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Raf B
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Consider this teaching variant which uses only the character event decks and focuses the game more narrowly on the rules affecting the Fellowship.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
neko flying
Germany
Berlin
Berlin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The "teaching variant" is nice but it aleters the military aspect of the game a lot. What is nice about just playing without Event Cards is that those cards could just be introduced later in the game, for example:

1) When the Fellowship has travelled at least four regions.

2) When the Witch-King fights the first battle.

This should happen perhaps 30-40% into the game, after the players have got how the game flows, and only if they are not feeling overwhelmed by the rules / there is enough time for that.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
neko flying
Germany