Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Gato Leader» Forums » Rules

Subject: Deep Dive rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael Sundborg
United States
Carthage
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I am assuming that the Deep Dive reaction automatically negates the Escort attack ( as opposed to the original U Boat Leader when you rolled two die ....since you don't roll die in this version for attacks against subs)

Mike
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bob T
United States
Mantua (near Woodbury)
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
As far as I can tell it does negate the attack. But you still have to roll less than your Evasion to avoid Flooding.

I have a related question- does one Deep Dive cancel all Escort attacks or do you have to make a separate Deep Dive for each attacker?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Sundborg
United States
Carthage
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I play it as cancelling all attacks
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Bos
Finland
Helsinki
Uusimaa
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thoth Amon wrote:
As far as I can tell it does negate the attack. But you still have to roll less than your Evasion to avoid Flooding.

I have a related question- does one Deep Dive cancel all Escort attacks or do you have to make a separate Deep Dive for each attacker?


I was also wondering about this. I assume it does negate ALL attacks, but the rules are unclear about this.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bret Hekking
United States
Acton
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Gato Leader and U-Boat Leader rules differ slightly on this, but I think they are intended to be the same.

Page 20 of the U-Boat Leader rules (2nd Ed, from DVG site) states:
"All Escort attacks have no effect, but roll a die. If the die roll is equal to or less than the U-Boat’s Evasion rating, there is no effect."

Page 22, Gato Leader rules (also from DVG site) states:
"Do not draw a Hit counter for the Escort’s Attack, but roll a die. If the die roll is equal to or less than the Submarine’s Evasion rating, there is no effect."

I think the U-Boat Leader version makes more sense. Once you plunge into the depths, subsequent attacks this Combat Phase are nullified, however, there seems to be general agreement (in the forum) that you add 2 Stress once, for the dive, but roll an Evasion check for each Escort attack declared against the sub from one that triggered the Deep Dive onward during the Combat Phase, so it's possible to accumulate multiple Hull hits in one Combat Phase.

WDYT?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ernie Olsen
Canada
flag msg tools
mb
brethekking wrote:
...there seems to be general agreement (in the forum) that you add 2 Stress once, for the dive, but roll an Evasion check for each Escort attack declared against the sub from one that triggered the Deep Dive onward during the Combat Phase, so it's possible to accumulate multiple Hull hits in one Combat Phase.

WDYT?


I concur.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.