Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Triumph & Tragedy» Forums » Rules

Subject: questions about attacking rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
George Yourgos Yirgis
Japan
flag msg tools
mb
Hi everyone.
Started playing this with some friends. We love it but have some questions. If a player attacks Marseille from Milan (for example) and there are no units there, does a fortress get placed there? The West player still controls France but has no units there. What about Iraq? The Soviet player took over Persia then went into Iraq. Do they automatically take control (after the DoW)? The West player still had a unit in Suez.
Thank you
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roger Reisinger
msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
If a territory has no units in it, then it has no defense and is just automatically taken over. The only time forts are placed for free is with neutral countries. Major and Minor powers never place forts, or units, for free. They must be paid for during the purchasing phase.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Evans
United States
Richmond
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Roger is correct in regards to Fort placement.

As to your second question, Take a look at 1.14 Land Area Control. Note, that a land area can be controlled by:
Occupation (meaning, you [and only you] have a unit in the area)
Ownership (you and an enemy are disputing an area but you were there first)
Great Power Territory control (Unoccupied Great Power territory is controlled by that Great Power)
Capital control (the land area is unoccupied but you control the land area's capital).

You'll notice that I put those in descending order of importance. Occupational Control trumps all the others.

So, in your scenario of moving into Iraq, you have occupational control of Iraq. That's the best type. No other condition matters, you own it. Even though your friend had a unit in Suez, which would give him capital control of Iraq (if it were unoccupied!), this is ignored. Occupation control supersedes capital control.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
juerg haeberli
msg tools

Add:
If you have occupational control and someone else has capital control the area will revert back to capital control if you leave the area.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.