$30.00
$5.00
$20.00
$15.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Scythe» Forums » Rules

Subject: Start a combat with zero (0) on power track, possible? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
KEVIN GEORGE AVERILLA
msg tools
mbmbmb
Can an attacker start a combat with zero (0) on power track, possible? will combat cards being used only during an attack, suffice? ninja
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Leigh Ryan
Australia
Richlands
QLD
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In a word, yes.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Klaus Kristiansen
Denmark
Kongens Lyngby
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You don't even need cards. If for some reason you want to attack anyway, you may.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
KEVIN GEORGE AVERILLA
msg tools
mbmbmb
Thanks! we played last night and we agreed not to advance any combat with zero power strength it worked though it limited the battles. Will patch our game tonight!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Niko
Canada
Calgary
Alberta
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Klaus O K wrote:
You don't even need cards. If for some reason you want to attack anyway, you may.
One reason might be that if the defender also has no cards and no power the attacker can win a 0-0 tie for an easy star
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack S
Canada
Calgary
Alberta
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ze_German_Guy wrote:
One reason might be that if the defender also has no cards and no power the attacker can win a 0-0 tie for an easy star


That happened in a 5P game the other day. One player weakened themselves in combat to zero combat power and zero cards and myself and another player attacked him, giving us both an easy combat star.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
GAF Blizzard
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
*edit* To be clear, this is a different case than power, but you can also start combat with zero (0) POPULARITY even if you're attacking a space with a mech + workers:

https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1608859/can-you-start-comba...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Niko
Canada
Calgary
Alberta
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
GAFBlizzard wrote:
You can also start combat with zero (0) even if you're attacking a space with a mech + workers:

https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1608859/can-you-start-comba...
True, but that thread is dealing with zero popularity, I don't see any mention of zero combat strength in it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jamey Stegmaier
United States
St. Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
The amount of power you have is not connected at all to your ability to enter combat.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roger Edwards
United Kingdom
Bournemouth
Dorset
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This was how we played it when we encountered this issue last night – attacking when you have no Power or cards being allowed – but it did create a comical, if not entirely satisfying, end game.

A player held the factory and was attacked. Another player, not involved in the combat was expected to end the game on their turn, so no more turns for holder or the attacker. The factory holder played their last card and used all their Power, successfully defending their position. The game was not ended.

The factory holder was then attacked by a player on 0 power and with no cards. We did check the rules at this point, and rationalised the situation of attacking without Power as representing a lot of sabre rattling. The factory was lost because it was a 0-0 draw. The loser did not get a card because they had not spent any Power/cards. Again, the game was not ended.

The original factory holder then took it back with another 0-0 attack.

As I said, this was comical and we enjoyed it, but did seem a bit daft and a messy end to a great game. I guess it was an accident of circumstance, for example, the original factory holder was Nordic and just retreated into the lake next to the factory thus enabling them to attack again, the fact that we were expecting the game to be ended, etc.

Ironically, holding the factory made no difference to who won, it being neither player who had held it. Also, the player who delayed ending the game didn't win. It turned out to be the player who had few territories but had made the effort to get well up the Popularity track to ensure good end-game multipliers. And therein lies a lesson for us all
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.