$20.00
$15.00
$5.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Pax Porfiriana» Forums » Rules

Subject: Two Solo questions: Diaz Depression and Spy play rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Matt Deuber
United States
Baldwin
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
1. If there are two headline cards in the 0 cost spot (one Bull, one Bear) and there is a Bear in the discard pile showing, what order does Diaz discard? Does he intend to cause a depression?

2. For Spy cards, like Mexican Postal Service, will Diaz spend them to block an Orange or Black card play, or save the card to increase Prestige during a Topple?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Sachs
United States
Woodinville
Washington
flag msg tools
Despite your hope, there is not even any inherent symbolism; gravity is simply a coincidence.
mbmbmbmbmb
For both of those, you could certainly roll a die. However, I'd personally play that for (1), Diaz would trigger a depression.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack
United States
Cumberland
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
The solo game is pretty much dictated by die rolls so it certainly would be in the spirit of the game.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Deuber
United States
Baldwin
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I am using Ricky Royal's excellent solo variant.

For now, I like the idea of having Diaz force depression when he can, and rolling a die for blocking Orange and Black cards.

Thanks, guys.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Box of Delights
United Kingdom
Neston
Wiltshire
flag msg tools
designer
Visit me at www.boxofdelights.net
mbmbmbmbmb
mdeuber wrote:
I am using Ricky Royal's excellent solo variant.

For now, I like the idea of having Diaz force depression when he can, and rolling a die for blocking Orange and Black cards.

Thanks, guys.


Great questions . The above advice is good. If you want to stick with the "Ricky Royal" variant, the answers are:

1. You decide the order
2. He always saves them for the Topple.

Have fun ! Ricky.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Deuber
United States
Baldwin
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Awesome, thanks Ricky!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gillum the Stoor
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
mdeuber wrote:
If there are two headline cards in the 0 cost spot (one Bull, one Bear) and there is a Bear in the discard pile showing, what order does Diaz discard? Does he intend to cause a depression?

Aren't there other cases in which the order played matters?

The rules say, "He plays both cards per below, in the order purchased."

Is "the order purchased" top-row first?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorik
Netherlands
Utrecht
Utrecht
flag msg tools
wouldn't it be weird if coincidences never happened?
mbmbmbmbmb
if you purchase the purchaser decides, in the case of discards it's less clear to me.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.