BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » Conventions

Subject: Gen Con Auction - Pre-Registration Required rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Katie Fountaine
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
If any of you are planning on selling items at the Gen Con Auction, don't forget to pre-register. There is no longer any onsite data entry starting this year, so we won't be able to sell any items that are not pre-registered on our website before the deadline - July 31st.

www.livegameauctions.com

For questions, contact me at genconauction@gmail.com
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Caraher
United States
Greencastle
Indiana
flag msg tools
This is my first time attempting to sell at a convention and I have a bunch of questions. I'm mainly selling '70s-'80s era wargames (SPI, Avalon Hill, etc.) that have been punched and played but are in good condition.

My questions are:

1. I'm selling because I no longer have time for the hobby. Can I drop off items for sale without paying the full Gen Con registration fee? Even 1 day is likely to devour the full amount of any sales.

2. Auction vs. consignment: What I'd like to do is use the option whereby items that don't sell go to the consignment store. But it appears that the only option is to have them sell for the reserve price. I will not be able to pick up any unsold games (I'll be out of town Sunday). Looking over past auctions, it looks like I'm generally better off putting things in the auction, and the advice I've read suggests no or low reserve prices work best. So... any generic suggestions on pricing/sales venue strategies?

3. Speaking of which - are there any good lists out there of in-demand titles that I should be aware of? I have no good sense of the value of my collection. (I am definitely a player, rather than a collector, and the condition of my games reflects that.)