Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Twilight Struggle» Forums » Rules

Subject: Reagan Bombs Libya rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
The Docito
msg tools
So we're beginners and coming to the end of our 3rd or 4th game. A quick caveat that we might not be playing the rules correctly (which i presume our issue

10th round
USSR has a healthy grip of the board although the USA is in the lead 13 on VP counter.


USSR has the Middle East and northern Africa locked up and DEFCON is on 3.

USSR has 6/1 influence markers on Libya. The USA plays 4op card and uses the points to play a re- allignment. As we understand it that means USA has 4 opportunities to roll reallignment's on his turn. He throws them all on Libya

USSR has all surrounding countries under his influence. and USA suffers massive losses. By the end of the 4 rolls he has around 30 influence markers on Libya.

next turn USA plays the Reagan Bombs Libya card and wins 15 VP points to win the game

surely this could not have been allowed? what are we doing wrong?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Snooze Fest
United States
Hillsborough
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
We love our pups!! Misu, RIP 28 Nov 2010. Tikka, RIP 11 Aug 2011.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You cannot gain influence with a realignment -- it can only take away influence. If you meant to say coup, there's only one roll and the most you can gain would be: 4 ops card - (2 x 2 stability) + 6 die roll - 1 influence belonging to other player = 5 net gain for you.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex
Canada
Candiac
Quebec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You never gain influence for realignments. You can only lose.
Libya should have been 6\0.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randy Evans
United States
Richmond
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
They're right, of course, about the realigns, but given the misunderstanding, it would have been really fun to play that card.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Karl Hiesterman
United States
Aurora
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
I wish to kill you, be at rest as to that, but to kill you quietly in a snug, remote place, where you will not be able to boast of your death to anybody
badge
Caught trouser-free in open country...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Also, I may just be reading this into your description, but you don't have to pre-allocate or commit all of your realignments at once. You can do them one at a time, deciding the target after seeing the results of the previous attempt...
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mattias Elfström
Sweden
Unspecified
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Reread rule 6.2.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
alberto bottarini
Italy
galla
flag msg tools
mbmb
snoozefest wrote:
You cannot gain influence with a realignment -- it can only take away influence. If you meant to say coup, there's only one roll and the most you can gain would be: 4 ops card - (2 x 2 stability) + 6 die roll - 1 influence belonging to other player = 5 net gain for you.



I think you should not consider influence in near countries...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.