$20.00
$5.00
$15.00
$30.00
Xavier Lloyd
Jamaica
Kingston 5
Kingston
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Regarding the boost on this card
Tempestuous:
Switch your discard and your deck. Shuffle your deck (this card is not discarded until after the switch).

Does this pretty much mean that Mei Lien will almost never have to use the shuffle action (if played correctly)? So she'll never have to worry about losing due to running out of cards?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Honig
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Losing by running out of cards isn't really a major threat for most people. This boost gives her a different discard to power up her cards with, or some control over how her stuff is arranged. But if you want to use it to simulate a reshuffle, then she should never need to reshuffle.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jared Voshall
United States
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Based on my plays, you should really only run out of cards if both players are playing incredibly defensive games - and there are several rules that very much discourage that style of play. The game very much rewards playing aggressively, which means that the game will generally end before the first reshuffle, much less even getting close to running out of cards.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Talton
United States
New Mexico
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
(╯‵Д′)╯彡┻━┻
mbmbmbmbmb
MeiLien often relies on the 'Change Cards' action to set up her discard pile early on. These early turns of dumping lots of cards could make her susceptible to running out of cards later. Also if she uses a forced reshuffle, her discard pile will be completely empty, which effectively turns off her character ability.

For these two reasons, we gave MeiLien Tempestuous as a 'soft reshuffle' that would prime her discard pile while giving her access to the cards she wants to play again.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.