Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Star Trek: Frontiers» Forums » Rules

Subject: Away Missions: Using cards from hand rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ed Moynihan
msg tools
On an Away Mission, you can generate points using from cards in the players hand.
Does this mean a player has a choice to use one of the following;
1. the basic effect of the card
2. the stronger effect after paying the cost or
3. turn the card sideways to generate +1 Diplomacy, +1 Shields or +1 Attack?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Barry Miller
United States
Saint Charles
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

Yes, cards are played from your hand normally, to achieve the necessary Diplomacy points for the Diplomacy phase, or the necessary Long Range Attack points for the LR Attack phase, and so on for each of the Away Mission phases.

Reference: Page 10, Full Rulebook.

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Hill
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
On the topic of Away Missions and cards in your hand -- does the Captain card need to be in your hand in order for him/her to go on the Away Mission? If the card does not need to be in your hand, does that mean you dig through your deck to find that card so you can know its abilities during the mission?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Barry Miller
United States
Saint Charles
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DustOfTheStars wrote:
...does the Captain card need to be in your hand in order for him/her to go on the Away Mission?

No.

Remember that the Captain is always considered a member of the ship. He (or she) is the Commander of your ship after all, so is the one ship's member you start the game with. (Reference: Walkthrough, page 2). As such, as long as he/she is "Ready", he's always available for you to send on Away Teams. You don't need to have his card in your hand, in the same way that you don't have cards in your hand named for the other crew members.

In other words, a ready Captain is always available to send on an Away Team, as are any ready Crew Members that you've recruited during the game. You do not need matching cards in your hand to do so.


DustOfTheStars wrote:
If the card does not need to be in your hand, does that mean you dig through your deck to find that card so you can know its abilities during the mission?

No. The Captain's abilities which are brought along on the Away Team are his Skill Tokens. Remember that the Skill Tokens are the Captain's Skills - and his alone. (Reference: Walkthrough, page 5). Contrast this to the Crewmembers who have their skills printed on their cards.

BUT (to get more to your question)... the Captain of each ship does have a named action card in the Ship Deck! Normally they act like any other card played from your hand ... except when it comes to Away Teams.

Above I said that the Captain brings his Skill Tokens when sent on an Away Team. But also, he/she brings his own-named action card, too! BUT ONLY IF YOU HAVE THE CARD ALREADY IN YOUR HAND. In other words, when you choose to send the Captain on an Away Team mission, if you don't already have the Captain's named action card in your hand, you can't go searching through your ship deck to find it!

Also - and here's the kicker - if you do have the Captain's named action card in your hand while you're conducting an Away Team mission, you can only use it during that Away Mission if the Captain is part of the team! (Makes sense, really). IOW, if you have the Captain's card in your hand, you can't use it to help resolve Away Team actions if you didn't send the Captain.

To summarize:
- No, you don't need the Captain's card to send him (or hers) on an Away Team mission
- No, you can't go fishing through the deck to find it
- If it is in your hand while conducting the away team mission, you may use the Captain's card, but only if the Captain is a member of the team.

(Reference to all the above unless otherwise mentioned: Full Rulebook, page 10).

Hope this helps!

5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.