18 Posts

BattleCON: Devastation of Indines» Forums » General

Subject: What is lacking in Battlecon rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
jitjit2x junior
Philippines
flag msg tools
Before anything else, I am a big fan of Battlecon and it is one of my favorite games.

I am not an expert of battlecon. I only have 30 games in real life, 3 by PbF, and 2 by vassal.

What I feel that is lacking in Battlecon is how to showcase your battlecon skill.

In a fighting game like Street Fighter, a pro player, (Daigo) can show to the world his ultimate skill by beating a beginner without losing any life point, and goes to beat that beginner maybe 3 games in a row. We can then conclude, just by looking at the life remaining that Daigo won convincingly.

But it will not happen in Battlecon. Surely, a pro battlecon player like Marco, can beat me 3 times in a row. But will not have a perfect life remaining. Maybe taking at least 5 to 10 damage every game. Surely, a pro battlecon player can outplay a beginner every beat. But it doesn't translate well to their life difference at the end of the game.
Hence, we can only conclude that they had a close fight, even though, beat per beat analysis shows otherwise.

But this is just me. Maybe not an issue at all. lol
What do you guys think
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Sinn
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmb
I think the 5-10 damage is a consequence of the cooldown. In SF, you can have a gameplan based on the matchup, and execute it to perfect, including using your best buttons in every scenario.

You don't have that option in Battlecon -- moves go into cooldown, and sometimes you're left with tools that force you to take damage (stun-guard moves). there are definitely a lot of characters whose toolset rely on trading damage, so you're never going to have that type of result.

I think winning 3 straight matches is pretty dominating.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lari Rissanen
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb