$30.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Advanced Squad Leader: Starter Kit #1» Forums » Rules

Subject: Breaking a good order SMC rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Chua
United States
Emeryville
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just wanted to clarify if I'm playing this correctly:

If a good order SMC fails a MC, he breaks and gets a DM counter and has to roll to see if he is wounded or killed right?

If he then fails another MC after already being wounded/ reduced, he would then roll another die with a +1 modifier tosee if he is KIA (but with a chance to suvive this die roll and live to see more combat?)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Herb Boutilier
United States
Smyrna Mills
Maine
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
A SMC is wounded by casualty reduction. A unit that rolls a 12 on a MC suffers casualty reduction in addition to breaking. Or an already broken unit that fails a MC suffers casualty reduction. An already broken unit that rolls an original 12 on a MC is eliminated. You don't automatically roll to see if a leader is wounded if he is broken by fire, no.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ted Torgerson
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
If a good order SMC fails a MC, he breaks and gets a DM counter


correct.

Quote:
and has to roll to see if he is wounded or killed right?


No. He is only wounded on an IFT result of K/# where he is selected as the unit that suffers a casualty reduction, or as stated, he is already broken and fails a MC, etc. He immediately takes a wound severity die roll. He might be KIA (5-6) or he might just suffer light wounds(1-4). If he suffers light wounds he gets a wounded marker which gives him a +1 to any future wound severity die roll.

Quote:

If he then fails another MC after already being wounded/ reduced, he would then roll another die with a +1 modifier to see if he is KIA (but with a chance to suvive this die roll and live to see more combat?)


This is not quite right because you are combining/mixing the effects of being wounded and having broken morale. A leader can be wounded but not broken. For instance the leader is selected to suffer the CR from a K/# IFT result but then passes his morale check (even though, remember, his morale and leadership modifier have been reduced by 1). Or a wounded leader breaks, but then rallies. If a wounded unbroken leader breaks he does not make a wound severity die roll. A wounded broken leader that fails an MC would take a new wound severity die roll, as would a wounded leader unlucky enough to be chosen to suffer the CR from a second K/# IFT result, or a wounded broken leader that rolls a 12 on a subsequent rally attempt, or an unbroken leader that takes a MC and rolls a natural 12. Any subsequent WS dr is 50/50 (1-3 lives, 4-6 dies)

6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Kossits
Canada
Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1989Game wrote:
For instance the leader is selected to suffer the CR from a K/# IFT result but then passes his morale check (even though, remember, his morale and leadership modifier have been reduced by 1).


Great answer to the original question, but a small correction here.

If a leader is chosen for the K part of a K/# he doesn't have to take the MC after taking his wound roll.

If a squad gets chosen for the K, then the HS that is left and any leader that was not chosen for the K would have to take the MC.

It's in the rules but it's really easy to miss because it is quite unintuitive.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.