$30.00
$20.00
$15.00
$5.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Clash of Cultures» Forums » Rules

Subject: Capturing a City with a larger army than the city can legally hold rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Sky Zero
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
What happens at the end of a battle when your army is larger than the city can legally hold? We've traditionally just been playing that it's razed, but it came up again in a game tonight and the rule was questioned. Searched the forums and couldn't find anything definitive so we ended up just razing the city has we always have in this scenario.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex P
France
La Plaine St-Denis
Ile-de-France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
When can your army be larger than a city can hold?
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aradraug
Czech Republic
Novy Jicin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
As far as I can remember there is no limit on city size vs. army size. City size influences only the number of units that can be built in a city in one action (City size 3 + happy city = 4 units in one action).
There is only common limit of 4 army figures in one space. There are no special consequences when you capture a city of size 1 with 4 army figures...
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sky Zero
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Jesse Custer wrote:
When can your army be larger than a city can hold?


Hadn't played in ages and I think we confused the city size rule with armies. Razing is done in the status phase. That's what we get for not playingin 12+ months!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Grant
United States
Santa Clarita
CA
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Max of 4 Army units per land space. City size is irrelevant to the stacking rule.

"Army Stacking Limit
You may never have more than 4 Army units in the same Land space (Army units on Ships do not have a stacking limit but are limited to two per Ship)." Rules Page 9.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Papenfuss
United States
Star
Idaho
flag msg tools
"Your results are back: it's negative"......um, is that a bad thing?
mbmbmbmbmb
Jatta Pake wrote:
Max of 4 Army units per land space. City size is irrelevant to the stacking rule.

"Army Stacking Limit
You may never have more than 4 Army units in the same Land space (Army units on Ships do not have a stacking limit but are limited to two per Ship)." Rules Page 9.


This. Although there is a Persian leader in the civilizations expansion that allows his army to be five figures.

I wonder if the OP confused this rule with the one about how the size of the city dictates how many units one can build in that city...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.