Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Vladimir Teneslav
Romania
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Introduction

I really like to analyze the fun in games (boardgames and PC games) and understand why they make me feel the way I do. It's very important if I want to understand the design philosophies and try to master them. As I've been working for over 4 years on my sci-fi game MIND - The Fall of Paradise I've been through a lot of design and got to become better as I've seen the direct implications of lots of choices in the play testing rooms. I've got to understand a bit better what makes a good game tick (a game on my niche, of course)and I want to talk with other designers our there about what (and why) I ended up putting inside my game and why.

I want to talk about the design choices more, and not the game and I will try to make it clear about what I am talking about without you guys knowing the game's context.

Each Game Tells a Story

I remember when Team Fortress 2 first appeared and me and lots of my colleagues at work would play it in our break. The game was lots of fun while we were playing it but then we would all join the water cooler and would talk about all the memorable moments that we had in our game. Not all games are like that and it is a trait that keeps the game going in the player’s hearts and minds.

While I was designing MIND I constantly had a fear in the back of my head: “What if my game doesn’t spark any interesting and memorable moments to the players at the table?”. In today’s day of age most popular PC games are the ones that can also entertain a public, via Twitch or E-Sports and also the players playing it via some amazing and memorable (also shareable) gameplay moments. So there must be something interesting in watching, enough to entertain you, if not more than the person playing it, and the game should create moments worth talking about later on.