$60.00
$20.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Dune» Forums » Rules

Subject: Ties in combat rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
sam newman

doncaster
south yorkshire
msg tools
mbmb
So as i understand it agressor wins ties.

However this situation came up which caused a lot of arguing among people..

Emperor has 10 troops in tueks sietch

harkonnen sends in 1 troop

both leaders die

both harkonnen and emperor pladged 1 combat strength

result is a tie

harkonnen win

no troops left and no leaders left in the fight.



So my question is... does that still count as a win or would it be a draw (nobody wins)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Walts
Scotland
Kilwinning
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules are very clear on this ...

In a tie, the ("first player", who is the) aggressor wins, and ALL the
losers tokens in that region are sent to the Tanks.

If the Emperor moved first, or before the Harks, he is the "first player", so he
would have won. I'm basing on movement as the usual storm -> dot order.

Committing 1 token when you have 10? Why so few???

Rules are pretty straight forward on this ... Walts
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
sam newman

doncaster
south yorkshire
msg tools
mbmb
So if the emperor didnt actually move, but Moves first in turn order would he be counted as the aggressor? or would it all depend on if both players moved into that territory during the movement round, then the one who moved first would be the aggressor?

i assumed it had nothing to do with turn order.

In the rules it just said Agressor Wins Ties, we assumed if you were already in the location and the other moved in you was not the agressor you was defender.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Manning
United States
Sunnyvale
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Movement has nothing to do with this. Ties in battle are won by the aggressor; the aggressor is the player whose dot is next in line from the storm. See X.A.3 and IX.A. The only time there is a draw is when there is either a double-traitor call (see X.D.3) or a lasegun-shield explosion.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Walts
Scotland
Kilwinning
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
gorkel wrote:
In the rules it just said Agressor Wins Ties, we assumed if you were already in the location and the other moved in you was not the agressor you was defender.

Sadly, the aggressor is the first player, regardless of who moved into battle ... taken from
one set of rules
...

IX. REVIVAL AND MOVEMENT
A. The player whose player dot the storm next approaches
is termed the ‘first player’.

... So, even if the Emperor didn't move, but who's move turn it was before the Harks, they are
considered the aggressor.

It's caught us out a few times as well, to the point where a house rule would be in order!

Walts
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Albritton
United States
Tupelo
Mississippi
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
gorkel wrote:
i assumed it had nothing to do with turn order.


Turn order has everything to do with it.
7 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Smith
United States
Tulsa
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Once your group understand what "Storm Order" means this all becomes a lot simpler. Much easier just to say:

Shipment/Movement is done in Storm Order
Battles are chosen in Storm Order.
Ties are settled in Storm Order.

(This terminology works better than "Aggressor" which is vague and misleading. One can still be termed the aggressor even when they are technically just defending their own territory--but since their dot comes first they are called "aggressor". Better to just say it is settled in Storm Order.)
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
sam newman

doncaster
south yorkshire
msg tools
mbmb
Yea if the rules has just stated Storm Order then there wouldn't have been any confusion.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rodger Samuel
United States
Beaver Falls
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So, what happens if the Emperor is the "first player," but the combat is between the Harkonnen and the Fremen?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Cote
United States
Maine
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
DrZaat wrote:
So, what happens if the Emperor is the "first player," but the combat is between the Harkonnen and the Fremen?

Storm Order.
8 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Manning
United States
Sunnyvale
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
ekted wrote:
DrZaat wrote:
So, what happens if the Emperor is the "first player," but the combat is between the Harkonnen and the Fremen?

Storm Order.
Exactly. When the First Player has resolved all of their battles the First Player status passes to the right (to the next dot).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.