Eddie
United States
Belmont
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Is the word in 2016 that there's no respite from shadow cards after all? Always reshuffle the encounter discard pile? Or is there still that interesting exception that lets you sometimes be saved?

In particular then:

start of combat phase. encounter deck is empty. reshuffle and deal?
edit: would this have been mostly not possible since during quest stage when the encounter deck emptied with the last card during staging... a reshuffle was necessary immediately?

start of combat phase. one card in encounter deck. need two shadow cards. shuffle while dealing?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Lim
Philippines
Iloilo
Oton
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You reshuffle the encounter deck if empty ONLY DURING QUEST PHASE.

so if the encounter deck runs out outside quest phase just do nothing.

so if you run out of shadow cards, that is combat phase, so you dont reshuffle. therefore, you will end up some enemies will have no shadow cards on them, but still they attack.

Note: when dealing shadow cards you deal to shadow cards to enemies in player order, 1st player 1st, dealing the highest threat enemy engage with that player first , then next highest threat, then next, until all enemies engage to that player have shadow card, then proceed to the next player and so on, until all engaged enemies have shadow cards on them OR the encounter deck runs out.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eddie
United States
Belmont
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Okay, was just checking... I feel like this has changed over the years, but if it's the same old...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Ludlow
United States
Saint Louis Park
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rulebook Page 25 wrote:
If the encounter deck is ever out of cards during the
quest phase, the encounter discard pile is shuffled and
reset back into the encounter deck.



It was never ambiguous.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eddie
United States
Belmont
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Wasn't really about ambiguity during quest phase so much as during other phases...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Boggs
United Kingdom
Cardiff
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
jdludlow wrote:
Rulebook Page 25 wrote:
If the encounter deck is ever out of cards during the
quest phase, the encounter discard pile is shuffled and
reset back into the encounter deck.



It was never ambiguous.



We just hoped it was
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.