$30.00
Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Sekigahara: The Unification of Japan» Forums » Rules

Subject: Ishida block question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tom Shydler
United States
Las Vegas
Nevada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
The rules specify that the Ishida block (and the Ii block) can be activated in battle by any card....but the Ishida block is a leader unit, which does not require a card to be placed in battle (so long as no non-leader units have been played yet). Can the Ishida block be put into battle with other leaders without a card? If so, why would you not do so? And if not, then it is the most worthless block in the game (strength of "one" and requires a card to activate).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Albritton
United States
Tupelo
Mississippi
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Skiprydell wrote:
If so, why would you not do so?


You wouldn't want to because he is just a tea master that you are protecting, not a warrior.

Except on rare decoy patrols, he never leaves the home space in our games.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hugues Richard
Canada
Quebec
Quebec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Skiprydell wrote:
Can the Ishida block be put into battle with other leaders without a card?

Yes, like every other leader.

Skiprydell wrote:
If so, why would you not do so?

You may not want to risk him if you don't hit a threshold, are sure to win the fight without him or don't want to loose him when forced to destroy revealed blocks. Most of the time, you should hide or bluff his position.

Skiprydell wrote:
And if not, then it is the most worthless block in the game (strength of "one" and requires a card to activate).

He's free to play but you may want to reveal him late to cycle a card. Besides the 1 strength, he also gives leadership to boost movement.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.