$30.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Star Trek: Ascendancy» Forums » Rules

Subject: battle/retreat questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Angelus Seniores
Belgium
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
there are some odd/unclear situations that can occur with battles;

-are the attacking ships assumed to enter the sector they attack or do they stay and fight from where they are? it matters to know from which sector their retreat starts.

-must the retreat use the ships' full impulse speed or can you choose how far to go?

odd situation;
a klingon system is attacked from 3 adjacent sectors, each containing federation ships, after a round of combat the federation chooses to retreat and klingon ships remain in the system.
the rules say all ships must retreat to the same sector but you cannot move through sectors with rival ships.
so how could the ships from the 3 seperate sectors join in the retreat to the same sector as that requires them to move through the system itself blocked by the klingons? or do you perform the retreat independently for each seperate sector, violating the rule of keeping the retreating ships together?
if attacking ships are assumed to enter the system they attack then this wouldnt be an issue as they would already be together at that time to start the retreat move.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gale Force Nine LLC
United States
Earlysville
Virginia
flag msg tools
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
-are the attacking ships assumed to enter the sector they attack or do they stay and fight from where they are? it matters to know from which sector their retreat starts.

They stay and fight from where they are, firing into the adjacent sector.

-must the retreat use the ships' full impulse speed or can you choose how far to go?

You can move up to your full impulse speed.

odd situation;
a klingon system is attacked from 3 adjacent sectors, each containing federation ships, after a round of combat the federation chooses to retreat and klingon ships remain in the system.
the rules say all ships must retreat to the same sector but you cannot move through sectors with rival ships.


The rulebook states, “When you Retreat, all your Ships must Move and end their Retreat in the same Sector.” Apply this rule to each Sector from which Ships are attacking. In a multi-pronged attack, the Starships from each Sector need to retreat as a group. In the above scenario, each group of attacking Federation Ships needs to stay together as they retreat. Because they can’t move through the Klingon-occupied system, they could end up in 3 different Sectors.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Godwin
msg tools
mbmb
So essentially they just retreat towards whatever sector they came from in a multi-pronged attack.

In almost all the pictures, the attacking ship are on the system that they are attacking, but it sounds like a ship or fleet can never enter a system occupied by at least 1 enemy ship without the permission of the other player.
So you always have to attack from the adjacent sector unless the opponent brings ships in while your ships are already there.
Is this correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nova Cat
United States
Bakersfield
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
You can enter a system with rival ships if you have a trade agreement with them and they grant you permission. Ships can also be constructed at a starbase while rival ships are in the system.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Angelus Seniores
Belgium
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
John1701 wrote:
So essentially they just retreat towards whatever sector they came from in a multi-pronged attack.

In almost all the pictures, the attacking ship are on the system that they are attacking, but it sounds like a ship or fleet can never enter a system occupied by at least 1 enemy ship without the permission of the other player.
So you always have to attack from the adjacent sector unless the opponent brings ships in while your ships are already there.
Is this correct?


correct, you cant enter an occupied system/sector if the ship's owner doesnt allow it, though this just springs a new question; in case 2 players have ships there, do both need to agree or only the one who actually controls the planet itself?

after a battle, the winner can perform a tactical maneuver that lets him move his ships into the sector he just attacked (or another one within impulse range)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Almond
United Kingdom
Nelson
Lancashire
flag msg tools
mbmb
Both, the condition is ships in the sector control/colonization is irrelevant.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.