Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Triumph & Tragedy» Forums » Rules

Subject: Movement Question, why is this in the rules? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Pokke
Belgium
Werchter
optional
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
In section 11.0 Movement there's a strange paragraph.
And I wonder why it's there or what it intends?

"Units can move by Land Movement, Sea Movement, or Air Movement, but these cannot be combined in a single move."

Is the purpose of this rule to prevent units from the hinterland to move towards a coastal area and board a convoy and move to sea in a single move?

Does this also mean you cannot cross a strait over land as that would imply a land and sea move? If you cross the strait over sea, that would be ok, as you never have to cross land?

Air and sea can never be combined anyway, can they? They stay in the air regardless if they fly over land or sea.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Doug DeMoss
United States
Stillwater
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can certainly cross a strait by land; that's not considered a sea move, so Tunisia to Malta to Sicily is fine. Otherwise, you have it right.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David E
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
Boardgame Aesthete
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, basically it's saying troops can't march to the coast and board ships, or land and march inland, on the same turn.

I suppose adding "Air" is just to cover bases (and maybe in case they add paratroopers in an expansion.... )
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.