Hide
4 Posts

Sid Meier's Civilization: The Board Game» Forums » Variants

Subject: Revamping Combat using miniatures rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brian Lemler
msg tools
Hi all! I've been playing Civilization and Wisdom and Warfare for about 10 months now, and love the game! Have played Civ on the PC since the mid-90s as well.

I know this may not be very popular on this site, but I'm working to make some house rules and miniatures for replacing the combat system, to allow for 1 unit per square combat using dice. Does anyone have experience with doing this?

Was thinking of making a combat system with 3 units types (Infantry, Artillery, and Mounted), and 4 era's (Ancient, Medieval, Industrial, Modern), just as in the base game. Each unit type in each era would have a unique miniature (with some Civ's even having a culture-specific miniature).

The combat would be dice-based, with the era of the model corresponding to the number of dice rolled. Ancient unit = 1 die, Medieval = 2 dice, and so on. Highest roll wins combat, very simple. With some modifiers to the rules for rock/paper/scissors, and the Biology/Mathematics/etc combat bonuses, as well. And some limiting stacking granted (up to 4 units per square) by the current "Stacking" techs in the game.

The aim would be to give the game more of an intuitive feel (ie, Civ for the computer) and remove the abstraction from combat.

Thoughts?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Redox
msg tools
mbmb
From the scarce information provided, I don't see how exactly this system would work. Some question that came to my mind would be:

1. Highest roll wins vs some modifiers to the rules for rock/paper/scissors? That doesn't seem to work together, either one hits first and then the highest rolls might not matter any more (if the hit unit is killed) or the order of hitting doesn't matter and just the dice rolls decide.