4 Posts

Arcadia Quest» Forums » General

Subject: Prepping minis for painting rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jeff Mahood
Canada
flag msg tools
There are a lot of threads out there about painting minis in CMON games, but it's harder to find information about how to prepare them for painting. I've had a lot of experience painting metal figs, but this will be my first outing with plastic ones. I'd love some help/confirmation about what I've found through digging around before I dive in. Here's what I've seen:

1) Wash the minis with dish soap before starting to remove the mold releasing agent and ensure that the paint will stick to the mini.

2) If pieces are bent, submerge them briefly in hot water to straighten them.

I also have some specific questions:

1) If you rebase the figures, what do you use to attach them to the new base? (Especially for these chibi-figs with the tiny feet.)

2) What's the best way to seal the figures if they're going to get a lot of use - a brush-on sealer or one of the sprays?

Any other advice is also welcome. I've been painting minis in one form or another since 1990, so I've got lots of experience and am familiar with most of the core concepts (priming, shading, drybrushing, and so on.) , but almost all of my experience has been with metal or stiff plastic (think Games Workshop sprues.) Anything that's specific to prepping or painting the softer plastic cast minis common to CMON games would be very appreciated.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rick S
United States
Cincinnati
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
After dunking them in hot water and straightening them, dunk them in cold water to make them stay in the desired position.

I rebase them like this:
https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1512047/tutorial-re-basing-...
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trueflight Silverwing
United States
Waverly
New York
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb