Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Old School Tactical» Forums » Rules

Subject: Foot vs. Tanks rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Roland Deshain
msg tools
Is there a way to defeat tanks with squads or will they always need a special weapon?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
nht
United States
Detroit
MI
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
shepcy wrote:
Is there a way to defeat tanks with squads or will they always need a special weapon?


Melee works pretty well.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eddie Carlson
United States
Clarksville
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Infantry will use their fire power when in melee with tanks. So a rifle squad with 4 fp +2 for melee are working with a 6 fp vs the front armor of tanks. If the tank is weak, that is good odds for the infantry. All those guys swarming the tank with grenades and whatever they can muster.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Gallo
United States
O'Fallon
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I seem to recall that melee happens vs. the flank armor value. I am old and sick so my rusty memory might be failing me worse than usual.

Edited to fix a typo and to admit that I was wrong - Sorry.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eddie Carlson
United States
Clarksville
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
martimer wrote:
I seem to recall that male happens vs. the flank armor value. I am old and sick so my rusty memory might be failing me worse than usual.


Page 16, 30. Melee combat, step 12. Vehicles use their front defense value.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eddie Carlson
United States
Clarksville
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
martimer wrote:
I seem to recall that melee happens vs. the flank armor value. I am old and sick so my rusty memory might be failing me worse than usual.

Edited to fix a typo and to admit that I was wrong - Sorry.


You have nothing to be sorry for, I apologize if my answer was short or seemed snarky. I enjoy discussing the game and looking up rules!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Gallo
United States
O'Fallon
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Your answer was perfect. I was wrong, so I admitted it. No worries here! Except that I cannot recall rules any more.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim P.
United States
Champaign
Illinois
flag msg tools
Yet while exulting in solitude I became aware of a strange lack. I wished a companion to lie near in the starlight, silent, unmoving, but within touch. For there's fellowship more quiet than solitude, and rightly understood is solitude made perfect.
mbmbmbmbmb
martimer wrote:
Your answer was perfect. I was wrong, so I admitted it. No worries here! Except that I cannot recall rules any more.


Yeah - me either. Every day I have HUNDREDS of new games...

shake
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Gallo
United States
O'Fallon
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Lately they are all beginning to be new to me!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Walker
United States
Henry
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
'65 Squad Level Combat in Vietnam. On Kickstarter!
mbmbmbmbmb
martimer wrote:
Lately they are all beginning to be new to me!


I agree, it's tough to play them. I have a hard time remembering what rules from what game I've designed apply to which system. A serious problem in '65 and NOM... which are similar but not exact system replicas.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shayne Logan
Canada
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Besides the Anti-Tank Rifles and Ampulomets,

7/ 7. Flamethrowers, Satchel charges, Grenade bundles and Molotovs can be used against vehicles in an adjacent hex. Firepower of weapon is halved ( rounding fractions down ) and the squads FP is not added to attack.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Pultorak
United States
Hudson
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Can Flamethrowers, Satchel charges, Grenade bundles and Molotovs be used in (same hex) melee ? and at what strength ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shayne Logan
Canada
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Steve Pultorak wrote:
Can Flamethrowers, Satchel charges, Grenade bundles and Molotovs be used in (same hex) melee ? and at what strength ?


Satchel charges cannot be used in hex in Melee, but other weapons yes, at full Firepower
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.