Hide
9 Posts

Mage Knight Board Game» Forums » Strategy

Subject: Mage Knighr first time solo player, could use a hand please rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jason Hoiting
msg tools
Hey guys I'm new to BGG, how are you all doing?
Just looking to you guys to maybe help me start my quest in mage knight. I'mpumped to play it just came in the mail but when i opened the rule books i realized the intro "The First Reconnaissance" is a guide for 2. However, I'm playing solo but now am unsure how to start. The solo at the back of therulebook sseems for those with a bit more experience.

Thanks! I been to this site before to look things up and its what convinced me to buy this. I look forward to it a lot.

Cement
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Drake Coker
United States
San Diego
California
flag msg tools
badge
This is my tank for Combat Commander
mbmbmbmbmb
Welcome to BGG!

You might consider doing the First Recon with just one player and ignore the solo rules. The solo rules aren't hard, but they exist primarily just to add time pressure to the game and you'll just want to focus on getting the rules down the first game anyhow, so who needs pressure?

Of course, "winning" will be trivial, but that's not the point here.

Mage Knight is an awesome game, and very very good solo, but it can be a bit of a steep climb with it's learning curve. Take your time and ask questions here if you get lost or stuck. After a game or three, it will all come naturally.

After one learning game, you should be able to jump to the solo rules to have a more complete experience.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Tate
United Kingdom
Banbury
Oxfordshire
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Heya,