Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

War of 1812» Forums » Rules

Subject: A couple rule questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Heiko Moeller
Germany
Berlin
Berlin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
hi there,

1. An army block moves into a town. The only thing in the town is a warship.

the rule for warship capture says:
Quote:
The warships may not participate in army
combat, but may seek to retreat before
every friendly battle turn.


Can those warships even make an escape roll,
since there are actually no battle turns?



2. An army block tries to make a force march.

The "Force-Marcher" rule says:
Quote:
1-3: Block does not move and loses 1 step.
4-6: Block completes move with no loss.


Does that mean on a 1-3 the block doesn't
move at all or just not that extra step?



3. A Naval block enters an enemy but now friendly town
(i presume "friendly" means controlled by friendly army blocks).
But then the army block leaves. Does the enemy town still counts as
controlled?

Quote:
Warships can never move to an
enemy town. They can move to (and
control) an enemy lakeside town that is
currently friendly.



4. A reinforcement entry town is enemy occupied. The rule for reinforcement delayes says:

Quote:
They may use a future Army Phase to move
into one entry town.


Does one entry town mean they could also use the other entry
town? (since the US have two entries)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shayne Richards
Australia
Mittagong
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
1. As the defender goes first in battles, the warship makes a roll and if 1-3 is rolled it is captured and if 4-6 rolled it escaped but if the lake has an enemy ship a naval battle begins and is resolved first. The warship MAY be captured and cannot fight the army forces but can seek to retreat BEFORE any army battle. While here is no army battle, the naval ship has a chance to roll first to see if it escapes. You may have the earlier rules which are unclear on this but the later rules have it under 7.12

2. Block is not successful for the forced march so it still has its normal move but no extra.

3. Towns are deemed friendly and occupied by the their colour until an enemy unit moves in. As naval ships cannot engage land troops a naval ship cannot take control of a town without troops present. So a red ship can only enter a blue town with one or more red blocks in it. It cannot enter a blue unoccupied town.

4. A little tricky. I have always played it as if the town is occupied then you enter during an army phase and fight. On re-reading it I think it allows you to enter two troops in winter and then the other two troops on a future turn at the same location. If both are blocked then I presume you could battle at one point with all four troops.

Hope this helps, its an awesome game.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mayor Jim
United States
Fort Wright
Kentucky
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Agree...this is an awesome game in its straightforward design, but with many nuances. I use the updated map.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Heiko Moeller
Germany
Berlin
Berlin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb


Thanks for clearing these points up guys!

About 3
Let's say you conquered an enemy town with an army block.
On a subsequent turn you move a ship in. Should be fine since it's considered friendly.
But then you move your army block out.

> Can the ship simply stay?
> Does the town revert to its original owner?
> If not does it yield VPs?

Yeah really love these clean "case study" designs.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shayne Richards
Australia
Mittagong
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
YoloGames wrote:


Thanks for clearing these points up guys!

About 3
Let's say you conquered an enemy town with an army block.
On a subsequent turn you move a ship in. Should be fine since it's considered friendly.
But then you move your army block out.

> Can the ship simply stay?
> Does the town revert to its original owner?
> If not does it yield VPs?

Yeah really love these clean "case study" designs.



Wow that's a great question. My initial thoughts and memory is that the town is under control and as the ship would technically have troops it would stay friendly.

On reading the rules again the only thing I can see is...
Warships can never move to an enemy town. "They can move to (and control) an enemy lakeside town that is currently friendly, but see 7.12."

7.12 then talks about them only having to leave if enemy troops arrive. From that I believe the fact that it says they can control a town and only have to move out when troops arrive (A vacant town has no troops but is friendly to either US or British) then I would treat the town as occupied.

The ship cannot take the town but it can remain there after the land troops leave.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.