Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Legends of Andor» Forums » Rules

Subject: Legend 5 - Q: can the Prince fight vs monsters in the castle? A: NO rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Snooze Fest
United States
Hillsborough
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
We love our pups!! Misu, RIP 28 Nov 2010. Tikka, RIP 11 Aug 2011.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can the prince be used against the castle monsters?

Related side question: can players move through the occupied castle?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthias Mahr
Austria
flag msg tools
Life Ain't No Zombiefarm
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Legend 5 - the Prince vs monsters in the castle
No official answer, but I would definitely say "No" to the first question, since the prince has no range attack from adjacent space.

The second one is tricky. I would say "No" again, because the only reason, the characters can not go into melee attack seems to me, that they are not allowed to enter the space. So this should be the same, when passing through. But take this with a grain of salt.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wolfram Troeder
Germany
Bruchkoebel
Hessen
flag msg tools
Boardgaming is not a matter of life or death...
badge
...it's much more important than that!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Legend 5 - the Prince vs monsters in the castle
The pince can be used against the creatures in the castle as he does not fight alone, he just adds 4 strength to a hero with distance combat capability.

The heroes may not enter the castle as long as creatures are present. So they may also not cross it.

Edit: Played it wrong all the time. But the rules are clear on this. See below.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthias Mahr
Austria
flag msg tools
Life Ain't No Zombiefarm
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Legend 5 - the Prince vs monsters in the castle
Wolfram wrote:
The pince can be used against the creatures in the castle as he does not fight alone, he just adds 4 strength to a hero with distance combat capability.
That's interesting! So, is he allowed to enter the castle? Or does he provide his bonus, when moved to an adjacent space?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Snooze Fest
United States
Hillsborough
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
We love our pups!! Misu, RIP 28 Nov 2010. Tikka, RIP 11 Aug 2011.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Legend 5 - the Prince vs monsters in the castle
Thanks for the replies! A follow up: why can heroes not enter the castle? In don't remember seein that in the rules, although I certainly could have missed it. I was under the impression that generally the castle space is treated like every other, with 2 exceptions here: monsters camp out there, and monsters may only be attacked by bows.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wolfram Troeder
Germany
Bruchkoebel
Hessen
flag msg tools
Boardgaming is not a matter of life or death...
badge
...it's much more important than that!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Legend 5 - the Prince vs monsters in the castle
Susumu wrote:
Wolfram wrote:
The pince can be used against the creatures in the castle as he does not fight alone, he just adds 4 strength to a hero with distance combat capability.
That's interesting! So, is he allowed to enter the castle? Or does he provide his bonus, when moved to an adjacent space?


He provides the bonus when he is in a space with a hero. When the hero has a range attack (bow, crossbow, spear) he attacks with the bonus from the prince.

Edit: Wrong, see rules quote.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wolfram Troeder
Germany
Bruchkoebel
Hessen
flag msg tools
Boardgaming is not a matter of life or death...
badge
...it's much more important than that!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Legend 5 - the Prince vs monsters in the castle
Wolfram wrote:
Susumu wrote:
Wolfram wrote:
The pince can be used against the creatures in the castle as he does not fight alone, he just adds 4 strength to a hero with distance combat capability.
That's interesting! So, is he allowed to enter the castle? Or does he provide his bonus, when moved to an adjacent space?


He provides the bonus when he is in a space with a hero. When the hero has a range attack (bow, crossbow, spear) he attacks with the bonus from the prince.


I may be mistaken but AFAIR that's what one of the A legend cards says. Something like: You cannot enter and have to attack with ranged weapons.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lucas Hedgren
United States
Dublin
Ohio
flag msg tools
admin
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Legend 5 - the Prince vs monsters in the castle
The rules say the Prince has to be where the enemy is (not where the heroes are), and he cannot enter the castle per the legend, thus he cannot assist the heroes in freeing the castle.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthias Mahr
Austria
flag msg tools
Life Ain't No Zombiefarm
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Legend 5 - the Prince vs monsters in the castle
You are right. That's also in the German reference rule book, page 7:
Quote:
Wenn Prinz Thorald auf demselben Feld wie eine Kreatur steht, zählt er im Kampf 4 zusätzliche Stärkepunkte für den Helden.
Translates to: "If Prince Thorald occupies the same space like a creature, he gives additional 4 strength points for the hero."
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lucas Hedgren
United States
Dublin
Ohio
flag msg tools
admin
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Legend 5 - the Prince vs monsters in the castle
Wolfram wrote:
Susumu wrote:
Wolfram wrote:
The pince can be used against the creatures in the castle as he does not fight alone, he just adds 4 strength to a hero with distance combat capability.
That's interesting! So, is he allowed to enter the castle? Or does he provide his bonus, when moved to an adjacent space?


He provides the bonus when he is in a space with a hero. When the hero has a range attack (bow, crossbow, spear) he attacks with the bonus from the prince.


This is incorrect via both English and German rules. You should edit this, Wolfram, so others aren't confused when later reading this thread.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Snooze Fest
United States
Hillsborough
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
We love our pups!! Misu, RIP 28 Nov 2010. Tikka, RIP 11 Aug 2011.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Legend 5 - the Prince vs monsters in the castle
boomtron wrote:
The rules say the Prince has to be where the enemy is (not where the heroes are), and he cannot enter the castle per the legend, thus he cannot assist the heroes in freeing the castle.

For my reference, where does the legend say that?

Edit: Found it -- A5!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wolfram Troeder
Germany
Bruchkoebel
Hessen
flag msg tools
Boardgaming is not a matter of life or death...
badge
...it's much more important than that!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
boomtron wrote:
Wolfram wrote:
Susumu wrote:
Wolfram wrote:
The pince can be used against the creatures in the castle as he does not fight alone, he just adds 4 strength to a hero with distance combat capability.
That's interesting! So, is he allowed to enter the castle? Or does he provide his bonus, when moved to an adjacent space?


He provides the bonus when he is in a space with a hero. When the hero has a range attack (bow, crossbow, spear) he attacks with the bonus from the prince.


This is incorrect via both English and German rules. You should edit this, Wolfram, so others aren't confused when later reading this thread.


Done!modest
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.