Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
matt v
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmb
Sorry if this is explicitly stated somewhere (I'm still learning the rules), but when moving, do you only have one opportunity to play your movement cards per turn? For example, say I play 3 cards for 5 movement points, I move to one blank space hex (-2 movement) at the edge of the board, and then decide to explore a new tile (-2 movement). With only 1 movement point remaining, can I choose to play an additional movement card in order to acquire enough movement points to move onto the new tile? The walkthrough provided a situation similar to this, but they only stated that I cannot choose to add a data chip to a played card to increase my movement points. I did not say anything about playing new cards.

Thanks.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Jones
United States
Lagrange
KY
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Yes, you can play move cards at any time during your movement phase, before, during or after you move or explore, as many times as you like.

Walkthrough, page 9, under "Continuing Movement" explicitly allows this after exploring.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
matt v
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmb
Ok, thank you. Just trying to wrap my head around the mechanics. SO far, they aren't as bad as people make them out to be.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Jones
United States
Lagrange
KY
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
I agree, it's not really as bad as all that. The main problem is just that there are so many rules to keep track of, but I find them to be all fairly intuitive. Once you have one or two runs of First Recon under your belt, it all makes sense.
If you haven't seen it already, check out Ricky Royal's runthrough of Frontiers. His Mage Knight videos are considered the gold standard of explaining how that game works, and the Frontiers episodes are no different.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i-VriqT67q4
 Thumb up