The Hotness
Games|People|Company
The Hotness has gone cold...
Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

A Distant Plain» Forums » Rules

Subject: Bases First - clarification rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tim Campbell
msg tools
Hi all,

Looking for some guidance re: the bases first rule.

Firstly, regarding what insurgent pieces must be removed before the Base can be. Suppose the Taliban have a base and an active guerilla in a province, and the warlords have an active guerrilla. The coalition Assaults with 2 cubes. Can they remove the Taliban Base? Or do they have to eliminate both active guerrillas?

Secondly, there are various events (seal team 6, special forces, for example) which state "remove X pieces from y". Do these still have to respect bases last? Or can they remove them directly?

Thanks in advance,
Tim

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Train
Canada
Victoria
British Columbia
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's Bases last.

First question:
Read 3.2.4, final paragraph. "Once a targeted Faction has no Guerrillas in the Assault space, remove its Bases instead."
So no, you don't have to kill the Warlord Guerrilla before removing the Taliban Base.

Second question:
It depends on what the card says.
#8, SEAL Team 6 says "remove a Taliban piece..." so it could be a Base.
#35, Gulbuddin Hekmatyar says "Remove up to 3 Taliban pieces from 1 space." so again, you could take a Base or Bases.
#3, Reapers, says "remove up to 2 Active Guerrillas ( or 1 Base, last) per space." so the Bases last rule would apply here.

Brian
7 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Campbell
msg tools
Brilliant - thanks so much for the quick clarification. Hosting my first game of ADP on Saturday so wanted to make sure I had it down pat!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Train
Canada
Victoria
British Columbia
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks Tim, enjoy the game!
(and if you don't pretend it's happening to someone else....)

Brian
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.