Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

The Ravens of Thri Sahashri» Forums » Rules

Subject: Atman splitting 3 ways? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Richard Walter
United States
San Jose
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Alexander Göransson (pastorn) asked a question here and created a nice picture to illustrate:


His question was about reliving memories, but my question is about the Atman splitting into 3 (or potentially more) pieces: How should it be resolved?

From the picture above, the Atman is constructed by:
1. The green 5 starts it.
2. The yellow 3 is added to cover the top half of the 5.
3. The left green 2 is added to cover the bottom left of the 5. This is still a single Atman.
4. The right green 2 is added to cover the bottom right of the 5.

At this point, the 5 is completely covered and so it logically disappears from the Atman. And what is left is 3 independent groups. So Ren needs to resolve this.

Does Ren:
a) Point to one of the three visible cards, saying "This group stays" and the other 2 cards are discarded and the Atman is now composed of the chosen card and the 5 (which is now revealed).
  or
b) Point to one of the three visible cards, saying "This group goes" and that card is discarded. The discarded card now reveals part of the 5 so that it now pops back into existence and the Atman is now fully connected again and so no further splitting takes place and no more cards are discarded.

?

Thanks,
-Richard
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Lundström
Sweden
Täby
flag msg tools
Now who are these five?
badge
Come, come, all children who love fairy tales.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Short answer, it's a). Ren doesn't choose what to discard, but what to keep.

This is what happens:

1. The green 5 is where it is.
2. The yellow 3 is added. All stays.
3. the left Green 2 is added. Green is now relived, resolve this.
4. The right Green 2 is added. Atman splits in 3 ways. Ren chooses which part will remain, the other two are discarded. The hidden green 5 will remain, as it's not part of any of the groups that are discarded.

7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Walter
United States
San Jose
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Got it.

Thank you, Simon.

-Richard
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.