$30.00
$15.00
$5.00
$20.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Constantinople» Forums » Rules

Subject: Siege and defeat rules questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Robert B
United States
Parsons
Kansas
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for designing the game! Two questions:

When do sieges happen? I am playing that they can occur in two different phases of the game:

a) when you draw a new card and an army occupies the #1 box (from the previous turn), adjacent to Constantinople. The siege takes place at the beginning of the game turn.
b) when an army advances into #0 box, Constantinople. This take place immediately during the opponent phase.

Is this correct?

Losing the game:

The administration board shows "game over" on the 0 space; the rules state when you are already on the 0 space and need to reduce a resource. I am playing it per 7.0 - it is okay to have a resource on the 0 space but if you need to reduce it (which takes place before your turn, so there is a risk), the game is over.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve
United Kingdom
Farnham
Surrey
flag msg tools
designer
mb
Sieges happen only on armies attempting to enter Constantinople from the 1 space.

On the administration tracks zero=loss. I will check and update the rules when I return from my trip next week.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve
United Kingdom
Farnham
Surrey
flag msg tools
designer
mb
Rules wrote:
[9.3] Sieges: If one or more advancing opponents start the
Game Turn in their #1 Box, they besiege Constantinople.
For each opponent besieging Constantinople, lose one
Development Resource of your choice. The besieging
armies then attack the Walls of Constantinople.

Since "advancing" only applies during the Opponent phase this is already described correctly in the rules.

I agree that the admin loss rules disagree with the admin board.
Rules wrote:
Losing the Game: The game ends in defeat if the last wall
of Constantinople is destroyed by a besieging opponent or
either a siege or an event card requires a reduction in a
resource already in the #0 box.

This should be updated to "#1" box.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.