Subject: Too much for me? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gina Laurie
United States
New Mexico
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm not experienced at all in euro gaming (and just slightly more in other kinds), so I wanted to ask those of you who do have that kind of background. I'd like to find a euro game where the theme appeals to me (and this one does) to help me find out if I like this type of game. Do you think this one would be a good one for me?

The two experiences I've had with games like this were Robinson Crusoe and Concordia. I bought a used copy of RC, learned how to play, and ended up selling it 3 months later. It just felt too much like work and not play. It wasn't fun. I played Concordia with a group just once and it was ok...mildly interesting.

Does Martians seem as difficult as RC? Should I just avoid this kind of game altogether? I play solo a lot, so if you recommend another game,please, keep that in mind.

Thanks for your attention,
Gina

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sean
United States
Mechanicsburg
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
I don't want happiness by halves, nor is half of sorrow what I want. Yet there's a pillow I would share, where gently pressed against a cheek like a helpless star, a falling star, a ring glimmers on the finger of a hand.
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Gina, firstly this game has 3 modes of play - Solo, Co-op and Competitive so that covers all the bases I think. I solo games all the time so it's good that games are designed with a range of players in mind.

Robinson Crusoe is my 2nd favorite game so I am eagerly awaiting it's follow up First Martians: Adventures on the Red Planet, but it looks completely different to this game though the themes are similar. Martians - A story of civ looks like a typical worker placement game, if you like that type of game then it should be right up your street. Have you checked out Ricky's excellent video of it? http://www.boardgamegeek.com/video/103714/martians-story-civ...