Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Captain Sonar» Forums » Rules

Subject: Activating Silence: Can I change direction? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ulisses
Brazil
SP
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Another doubt: When activating silence do I have to go in the same direction up to 4 spaces or can I change direction. Let's say: north, north, west, west?

I think we were playing wrong.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fabien Conus
Switzerland
Geneva
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Proglin wrote:
Another doubt: When activating silence do I have to go in the same direction up to 4 spaces or can I change direction. Let's say: north, north, west, west?

I think we were playing wrong.


All four moves have to be made in the same direction.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yohan Lemonnier
France
flag msg tools
Hi guys.

And don't forget that you can move UP TO 4 spaces, but Silence can also be good tool for using some bluff, as you can stay still and not move at all, if you wish...

Enjoy !

Lt Lemonnier
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hans Moleman
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
I was saying boo-urns
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
scandale wrote:
Hi guys.

And don't forget that you can move UP TO 4 spaces, but Silence can also be good tool for using some bluff, as you can stay still and not move at all, if you wish...

Enjoy !

Lt Lemonnier



Hmm...if you can stay still on the silence, which one occurs:

1) First mate and Engineer mark nothing [which I would assume]

2) First mate and Engineer mark anything [since no direction is given for the engineer to mark]
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Piotr Hołubowicz
Poland
flag msg tools
Quote:
Hmm...if you can stay still on the silence, which one occurs:

1) First mate and Engineer mark nothing [which I would assume]

2) First mate and Engineer mark anything [since no direction is given for the engineer to mark]


I would assume the Captain still chooses a direction, even he decides to move 0 steps. In other words, first mate and engineer always get a direction and don't care how much the ship moves.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hans Moleman
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
I was saying boo-urns
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Looks like that is the correct answer.

A direction is given even at 0. Moreso for the Engineer as it doesn't matter for the FM.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fabien Conus
Switzerland
Geneva
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
KingD21 wrote:

Hmm...if you can stay still on the silence, which one occurs:

1) First mate and Engineer mark nothing [which I would assume]

2) First mate and Engineer mark anything [since no direction is given for the engineer to mark]


Number 1 is correct !
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hans Moleman
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
I was saying boo-urns
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
FabienC wrote:
KingD21 wrote:

Hmm...if you can stay still on the silence, which one occurs:

1) First mate and Engineer mark nothing [which I would assume]

2) First mate and Engineer mark anything [since no direction is given for the engineer to mark]


Number 1 is correct !



Sweet. I felt it was kind of weird telling the engineer a direction with a silence move of 0. Not marking anything made the most sense as no system would charge and no engine will be taxed on a non-move [thematically].
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.