$5.00
$20.00
$15.00
Mlai00 Mlai00
msg tools
mb
I'm a Descent newbie. Recently bought most of what's available (I'm OCD completionist) and has been slowly absorbing it. I like to mod PC games and tinker with rules in general, so I started thinking up some possible house rules when I encountered FFG rules I felt I didn't like.

Since I have no experience with the actual play balance, and just kind of dreamed up rules which I think "feels better", please take a look at the following and just let me know if any of them are big mistakes:

(1) REST takes one action, but must be performed without any enemies adjacent, or without standing on a hazard, or without otherwise being interrupted by the Overlord (such as via a card). If interrupted, the action is lost.

(2) Diagonal movement or range counts as 1.5, not 1.

(3) Monster spawning on the map costs its entire turn.

(4) Masters may spawn only after all minions in its group have spawned.

(5) A hero must be on the same square as the search token in order to search it. Same with activating objectives. If a monster is on the same space, then it cannot yet be searched/ activated.

(6) A hero's tokens (I have 5 for each player) are counted as "extra lives". Each time a hero is knocked out, he must spend a token in order to revive. An ally who wishes to revive him must spend 1 of her own tokens.

If there are no tokens left to spend, either because they are spent, or because they're tapped for some other specified purposes, then the downed hero cannot revive.

(7) The Necromancer's Reanimate can equip non-Mage melee weapons and armor. No relics or accessories. It has the additional surge options of the weapon, but can still only use 1 surge per turn.

(8) Fun rule for myself, in order to use some other 3rd-party minis which I possess:

The following named monsters replace the Master of any group (I would follow theme), and has the stats of a specified Act II Master. There is a max of 1 per map.