$20.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Cry Havoc» Forums » Rules

Subject: Order of attrition objective resolution with Shifted Priorities tactics card rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Van Willis
United States
Los Angeles
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Page 11 of the rules states that the attrition battle objective is resolved simultaneously "as it does not affect the resolution of the Battle".

However, when the Shifted Priorities tactics card is played, attrition is resolved first and does have the potential to impact the resolution of the battle. In this case what is the player order for resolution of the attrition objective? (e.g. does the attacker resolve first, by initiative order?)

Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grant Rodiek
United States
Redwood City
CA
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Vantastic wrote:
Page 11 of the rules states that the attrition battle objective is resolved simultaneously "as it does not affect the resolution of the Battle".

However, when the Shifted Priorities tactics card is played, attrition is resolved first and does have the potential to impact the resolution of the battle. In this case what is the player order for resolution of the attrition objective? (e.g. does the attacker resolve first, by initiative order?)

Thanks!


Attacker declares kills first.
Then Defender declares kills.
Resolve simultaneously.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Van Willis
United States
Los Angeles
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
HerrohGrant wrote:
Vantastic wrote:
Page 11 of the rules states that the attrition battle objective is resolved simultaneously "as it does not affect the resolution of the Battle".

However, when the Shifted Priorities tactics card is played, attrition is resolved first and does have the potential to impact the resolution of the battle. In this case what is the player order for resolution of the attrition objective? (e.g. does the attacker resolve first, by initiative order?)

Thanks!


Attacker declares kills first.
Then Defender declares kills.
Resolve simultaneously.


Makes sense as that maintains the dynamics of the defender advantage, thanks for the quick response and being such an active designer in the forums!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grant Rodiek
United States
Redwood City
CA
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Vantastic wrote:
HerrohGrant wrote:
Vantastic wrote:
Page 11 of the rules states that the attrition battle objective is resolved simultaneously "as it does not affect the resolution of the Battle".

However, when the Shifted Priorities tactics card is played, attrition is resolved first and does have the potential to impact the resolution of the battle. In this case what is the player order for resolution of the attrition objective? (e.g. does the attacker resolve first, by initiative order?)

Thanks!


Attacker declares kills first.
Then Defender declares kills.
Resolve simultaneously.


Makes sense as that maintains the dynamics of the defender advantage, thanks for the quick response and being such an active designer in the forums!


A part of our responsibility to you! kiss

We'll make sure this is in the FAQ as well.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
clarence
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
HerrohGrant wrote:
Vantastic wrote:
Page 11 of the rules states that the attrition battle objective is resolved simultaneously "as it does not affect the resolution of the Battle".

However, when the Shifted Priorities tactics card is played, attrition is resolved first and does have the potential to impact the resolution of the battle. In this case what is the player order for resolution of the attrition objective? (e.g. does the attacker resolve first, by initiative order?)

Thanks!


Attacker declares kills first.
Then Defender declares kills.
Resolve simultaneously.


how happen if the human seek and destory is in play.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grant Rodiek
United States
Redwood City
CA
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
whipko wrote:
HerrohGrant wrote:
Vantastic wrote:
Page 11 of the rules states that the attrition battle objective is resolved simultaneously "as it does not affect the resolution of the Battle".

However, when the Shifted Priorities tactics card is played, attrition is resolved first and does have the potential to impact the resolution of the battle. In this case what is the player order for resolution of the attrition objective? (e.g. does the attacker resolve first, by initiative order?)

Thanks!


Attacker declares kills first.
Then Defender declares kills.
Resolve simultaneously.


how happen if the human seek and destory is in play.


As noted in the rules, any third parties always resolve last.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evan McKinney
msg tools
mb
Bumping this with a related question regarding Shifted Priorities.

On the card, it says the order is reversed, starting with attrition.

If another Shifted Priories is played, is the order maintained (since the text specifically says attrition occurs first) or is the order reversed again to make region control first? If it's the latter, that means players could potentially have a sort of mini battle where they reverse the order several times before the objectives are finally resolved, yes?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grant Rodiek
United States
Redwood City
CA
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
qklilx wrote:
Bumping this with a related question regarding Shifted Priorities.

On the card, it says the order is reversed, starting with attrition.

If another Shifted Priories is played, is the order maintained (since the text specifically says attrition occurs first) or is the order reversed again to make region control first? If it's the latter, that means players could potentially have a sort of mini battle where they reverse the order several times before the objectives are finally resolved, yes?


Gooooood morning! In final testing we polished the wording to say "starting with attrition" because once it is reversed, it is reversed. Previously you COULD go back and forth, but it was ridiculous, felt stupid, and felt cheap. Like an interrupt card of sorts.

Effectively, this card can be played once per battle.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.