Joakim Schön
Sweden
Huskvarna
Sverige
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If a quest get solved during the quest phase, will another quest be the active quest, or will no quest be active.

Because when I kill a enemy with Legolas, I will not be able to put 2 progress on a quest if there is no active quest.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Cope
United States
Somerville
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

Core Rules wrote:
Players immediately advance to the next stage of a quest as soon as they place a number of progress tokens equal to or greater than the number of quest points the current quest card has.

FAQ wrote:
Quest cards are immediately replaced as soon as players place enough progress on them, and this replacement does not interrupt the current round sequence.

There is always an active quest. So in your scenario, Legolas would be able to use his ability to place progress tokens on the active quest.

Edit: Oops! Responded w/o taking the subject into account. See below for the correct answer.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robin Munn

Unspecified
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Battle of the Five Armies rules state "Progress cannot be placed on any quest stage except for the current quest stage, and any card effects that affect the current quest can only affect the quest stage chosen for that round." You only change the current quest at the beginning of the round. So any progress tokens placed by Legolas will go on the current quest even if it already has enough progress tokens to advance.

Note that there is NO rule saying that you can't place more progress tokens on a quest than are necessary to advance. So you could take your 8 progress tokens and make them 10, or 12 if Legolas kills two enemies. This would help provide a buffer against the effects of The Front Gate, Ruins of Dale, and Ravenhill -- so Legolas's ability won't be wasted.

Edit to add: Stephen Cope's answer is correct in the general case, but the Battle of the Five Armies rules override the normal quest-progression rules. So in the specific case that you asked about, stages 2B, 3B and 4B of Battle of the Five Armies, you can only change the current quest during the start of the round -- but Legolas's ability won't be wasted since you can still pile up progress tokens as a "buffer" against any "Remove X tokens from the quest" abilities.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.