$30.00
Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

7 Wonders» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can I buy ressources I don't need? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bruno Ducharme

Quebec
msg tools
Let's say I have
-West Trading Post (allowing me 1$ reduction if I buy to the left)
-Clandestine Dock West (also allowing me 1$ reduction if I buy to the left)
-Hatshepsut (granting me 1$ rebate from the bank everytime I buy from a neighbor)


So, if I wish to build Baths (costing one Stone), I can buy one Stone for free from my left neighbor AND get 1$ from the bank!
So far so good.

But what if I already have Stone Pit?
Could I still choose to buy from neighbor, netting me 1$?

Heck, couldn't I just buy one Stone every turn, with no reason other than getting dollars out of Hatshepsut?



I'm convinced this goes against the spirit of the game, adn my playgroup would vote against that, but it's not clear to me whether the rules allow it or not.

Any comments?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M. B. Downey
United States
Alexandria
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
No, you can't. You must use your own resources first.

There has already been at least one thread about this.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruno Ducharme

Quebec
msg tools
I certainly agree, but I'd feel more comfortable if it could be deducted from the printed rules, or from an official web source...

Anything else, anyone?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M. B. Downey
United States
Alexandria
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
downeymb wrote:
There has already been at least one thread about this.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Talmadge
United States
Clinton
CT
flag msg tools
REFEREE MADNESS
badge
I'm wasting your time!
mbmbmbmbmb
You are overlooking some key words that clarify the purchasing of resources.
The rules state that you can purchase "missing" resources. The rules also state that "resources bought can only be used on the turn in which they are purchased."
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M. B. Downey
United States
Alexandria
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
A quick search reveals several threads. This one even has the rules quote you crave.

Chances are, a rules question for a popular game has already been answered, so using the search function will prove fruitful.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.