$30.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Captain Sonar» Forums » Rules

Subject: Engineer, Complete Area Breakdown rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Viktor Karlsson Mantel
Sweden
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
On page 4 in the rulbook in the section complete area brakedown its say to erase all breakdowns after taking damage. But the pictures only show one sector.

So is it poorly chosen picture or typo in the rulebook?


3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yohan Lemonnier
France
flag msg tools
When the area correspondîng to one direction (north, east, west...) is on breakdown, you take one damage et erase your whole sheet.
Enjoy !
Lt Lemonnier
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pedro Perez
Spain
flag msg tools
Hi all,

Just for clarify, when 1 área (example NORTH )is full, you erase all the breakdowns of the submarine of the four áreas? NORTH, south, east and west?? in other words you repair completely the submarine??
I think there are a mistranslation in spanish rules... it says you repair completely that área.., Example the NORTH.. not the submarine..

Thanks in advance
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Three Headed Monkey
Australia
flag msg tools
savuton wrote:
Hi all,

Just for clarify, when 1 área (example NORTH )is full, you erase all the breakdowns of the submarine of the four áreas? NORTH, south, east and west?? in other words you repair completely the submarine??
I think there are a mistranslation in spanish rules... it says you repair completely that área.., Example the NORTH.. not the submarine..

Thanks in advance

Hi Pedro.

You definitely clear the entire ship. It is a little confusing with the picture in the rules just having showing the one sector, but if you watch the rules explanation video starring the two game designers, at 3:45 it tells you what happens with a break down. It's in French, but you can clearly see the engineer wiping all damage from the systems in the ship.

https://www.boardgamegeek.com/video/106917/captain-sonar/cap...

Plus one of the game designer personally gave us an answer above!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jamie Hankins
United Kingdom
Southampton
Hampshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I was confused about this because of the following section:

Quote:
Breakdowns in the Reactor can be repaired in two ways:
• When all radiation symbols have been crossed out, the submarine suffers
1 damage. The Engineer announces “DAMAGE,” then erases ALL breakdowns
from the submarine.
• The best way to repair the Reactor is by surfacing (see page 5).


No mention of complete area breakdown as a way of erasing all damage.

Yet the section before seems pretty clear:

Quote:
When all symbols in a single control panel have been crossed out (in both the
Central Circuits and the Reactor), the submarine suffers 1 damage. The Engineer
announces “DAMAGE,” then erases ALL breakdowns from the submarine.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.