The Hotness
Games|People|Company
The Hotness has gone cold...
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
15 Posts

Terra Mystica» Forums » General

Subject: Bug on snellman or am I going crazy? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ryan Welborn

Washington
msg tools
mb
I wasn't sure where to post this and figured at least this would point me to where or if someone can answer for me

I'm currently playing in this game as the swarmlings: http://terra.snellman.net/faction/tmag86

This is my power siutation: 3/5/0 pw

I'm looking to burn power from bowl 2. When I input burn # it is burning twice the power of the # i type in. For example if I type burn 1 it says I have 3 left. If I type burn 2 it says I have 1 left. If I do more it says I don't have enough in P2.

I've just started playing Terra Mystica in general. I've played the base game in irl 2 twice. I just don't know about any rule that triggers something like this unless I passed over it. I don't know if what is bowl 2 is bugged with how many I have or it hasn't given me enough or I don't know a rule.

Thanks
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luke J
msg tools
That is correct. "Burn" refers to removing one token from bowl 2 and moving another token from bowl 2 to bowl 3. So you need 2 tokens in bowl 2 for each one you intend to burn.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Huss
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
For every one power you burn, one moves from bowl 2 to bowl 3, so you have two total less in bowl 2. Seems correct to me.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan Welborn

Washington
msg tools
mb
Thanks guys I read over the sacrificing power rule in the rule book. We have been playing it wrong at our home games and that led me to believe differently in how it worked. Thanks again.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matheus Affonso
Brazil
Porto Alegre
RS
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm curious, now. How exactly were you doing it before?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan Welborn

Washington
msg tools
mb
You only burned the power you didn't move from bowl 2 to bowl 3. I told the person who taught us (she's only played 1 more game then me), she doesn't have much experience either and must have read it wrong lol. I texted her. Her bf and other friend I guess have been raging since I found that out.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Wolfpacker
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmb
So the way they were interpreting the rules was the following?

If you had 3/5/0 and you burn 1 then your power would be 3/0/4?

If that's not right, could you use an example?

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthias Reitberger
Germany
Nürnberg
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
But why should you ever burn more than 1 in that case?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nico
Germany
Germany
flag msg tools
But I don’t want to go among mad people
badge
Oh, you can’t help that, we’re all mad here.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
JamesWolfpacker wrote:
So the way they were interpreting the rules was the following?

If you had 3/5/0 and you burn 1 then your power would be 3/0/4?

If that's not right, could you use an example?



No,

Before:

3 power in bowl 1, you can't burn them since they are not in bowl 2.
5 power in bowl 2, you can burn them
0 power in bowl3, nothing here.

Now you're going to burn power. You have to do two things: remove this amount of power from the game and move this amount of power from bowl 2 to bowl 3.
So it's only possible for you to burn 1 or 2 power. By burning three power you would have to move 3 power to bowl 3 from bowl 2 AND remove 3 power from bowl 2 from the game which is not possible since you have only 5 power in bowl 2.

After (burning 1 power):
3 power in bowl 1, still.
3 power in bowl 2.
1 power in bowl 3, can be used now for actions.

After (burning 2 power):
3 power in bowl 1, still.
1 power in bowl 2.
2 power in bowl 3, can be used now for actions.

By burning power you removed power from the game and therby lowered the maximum amount of power you can store but also got the ability to spend power directly and don't have to wait till everything from bowl 1 is in bowl 2.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grant
United States
Cuyahoga Falls
Ohio
flag msg tools
One of the best gaming weekends in Ohio since 2010. Search facebook for "BOGA Weekend Retreat" for more info!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ZdadrDeM wrote:
JamesWolfpacker wrote:
So the way they were interpreting the rules was the following?

If you had 3/5/0 and you burn 1 then your power would be 3/0/4?

If that's not right, could you use an example?



No,

It was very nice of you to explain all that, but you might want to re-read this thread. James is trying to figure out the OP's original interpretation of the rule. There is no question what the actual rules are (that has already been explained to the OP).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nico
Germany
Germany
flag msg tools
But I don’t want to go among mad people
badge
Oh, you can’t help that, we’re all mad here.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
grant5 wrote:
ZdadrDeM wrote:
JamesWolfpacker wrote:
So the way they were interpreting the rules was the following?

If you had 3/5/0 and you burn 1 then your power would be 3/0/4?

If that's not right, could you use an example?



No,

It was very nice of you to explain all that, but you might want to re-read this thread. James is trying to figure out the OP's original interpretation of the rule. There is no question what the actual rules are (that has already been explained to the OP).


Oh, I lost track. modest
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert
Germany
Bocholt
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
grant5 wrote:
James is trying to figure out the OP's original interpretation of the rule.
...and I was really wondering why he'd ask somebody to describe their previous misinterpretation of the rules in the Rules forum.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan Welborn

Washington
msg tools
mb
JamesWolfpacker wrote:
So the way they were interpreting the rules was the following?

If you had 3/5/0 and you burn 1 then your power would be 3/0/4?

If that's not right, could you use an example?



If you had 3/5/0 and burn 4 you use those four that you burned is the "currency" to use but they are out of the game forever still
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthias Reitberger
Germany
Nürnberg
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I guess you had to start with a power action to get one first round.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Wolfpacker
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmb
SpartanPhoenix wrote:
JamesWolfpacker wrote:
So the way they were interpreting the rules was the following?

If you had 3/5/0 and you burn 1 then your power would be 3/0/4?

If that's not right, could you use an example?



If you had 3/5/0 and burn 4 you use those four that you burned is the "currency" to use but they are out of the game forever still


Ah, I could see that as one way to confuse things. I would be curious to see how that changes the dynamic of the game.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.